it's itchy weather

2002-12-02

This weekend I remembered that I am a freak, because my left nipple started up with the cold & dry weather itching. Again. For the third year in a row. This worried me last year and the year before, if you recall, and I won't go into why it worried me or how I finally stopped worrying. This year I am vaguely amused by the itching, feeling like some kind of weather-predicting farmer type ["Pa, it looks like we're in for some dry weather"], but it's somewhat unpleasant because scratching the nipple is not the greatest idea. It sort of relieves the itching temporarily, but it also sort of hurts like a mofo. I'm caught between an itch and a sensitive place. My mom is probably so mortified, reading this. I'm going to get the "don't talk about your nipples on the internet" lecture; I just know it.

Yesterday I wrote a bunch of Christmas cards and addressed the envelopes and put aside Francisco's cards to write (for his family and friends), and I enjoyed it. I especially liked that we are sending such pretty cards this year. I got them from Catie's Christmas Collection and I'm happy to be sending lovely cards made by someone I know. If you haven't yet purchased cards to send, and you want to, you should give Catie's collection a look; she's got some beautiful things. I, of course, bought some of the Eva cards [plus some Geneva], because how could I not?

Oh, speaking of which, we saw the new Bond movie on Thursday and when we were leaving the theater, Francisco saw a poster for a movie called 'Deliver Us From Eva'. I know nothing about the movie, but I assume it sucks, because what are the odds of it being good? HowEVer, I'm also a bit childishly excited that a movie has my name in it. My name has never been one of the popular names, at least not while I've had it. You know the personalized name stuff you can buy--the mini license plates or the mugs or the light switchplates and whatnot? When I was a kid I sometimes wanted something personalized, but they never had my name. They had Eve, or Evelyn, but not Eva. This doesn't bother me now, but when I was a kid I felt sort of deprived. So bring on this probable bad film and I will enjoy the trailers and bad reviews while they last.

I wish I could obtain a Federal License to Meddle. If only there Was such a thing. Yesterday at the grocery store I saw a young woman, maybe 21 years old, pregnant and buying cigarettes. Now, I don't love breathing other peoples' cigarette smoke, but I wouldn't make it illegal to smoke, if I had that power, because I think people have the right to ruin their own health if they want to. BUT. Smoking when pregnant has been shown to cause low birth weights and other problems for babies, and I think when you're dragging another person into your habit like that, you shouldn't. So if I had the License To Meddle yesterday, I would have. I would undoubtedly have been told to fuck off, but such is the life of a professional meddler. At least the hours are good.

Thanksgiving was really nice. We were lazy almost all day, and then went to the Bond movie (as previously mentioned) in the late afternoon. From there we went to the restaurant at which we had reservations, and it was only about half populated, so it was great. We could take our time and not feel like we were hogging the table. We had really good food, including dessert and espresso (decaf for The Boy) and then home to coddle our full stomachs. It was perfect, though earlier in the day I was sort of wishing we had a turkey roasting in the oven, just because it would've felt cozy. I talked to my parents that night, after dinner, and was distressed to find out my poor dad had tripped when out walking with my brother, fell, and broke his nose. He was okay--not too bad a break--but my poor dad! And on Thanksgiving too! It was very sad.

On the other days this weekend I did little projects and errands and was lazy and made plans and didn't follow through with them, and read and organized and cleaned and made bread and apple crisp. Also, on Saturday I received a fabulous package in the mail from my sis in law containing a bunch of knitting needles, some patterns, a skein of yarn with a hat pattern, a book about Mike Starr, and some other things. It was Great! I especially love having all those knitting needles, because now I can have multiple projects going at once (well, I already do, but now I can have More). Elsee has given up on knitting, and I have benefited. My mom gave up on knitting and I benefited then, too. I figure if I hold out long enough, everyone I know will have given up, and I'll have all their needles. Muwahahahahahaha.

We'll be going out West for Christmas this year (part of the time in Seattle, part of the time in Eugene, OR), and we're facing the Cat Dilemma. The cats overwhelmingly prefer to stay in the house and have a cat person come to feed them/scoop their box/etc while we're gone, but we're worried because the last few times we've gone somewhere, the cats hide when the cat person comes to feed them. This is mainly a problem because Esther requires daily pills to avert asthma attacks, and if the cat person can't find her, she can't pill her. So we're considering boarding them at the vet's, and the very thought makes me want to weep. We boarded them once before, for about a week, because Esther had a huge asthma attack (one requiring an emergency vet visit) 2 days before we were supposed to leave, and we got worried to leave her at home. When we got back and picked them up, they had clearly been miserable. They'd been put in adjoining cages (because that seemed like a good idea to us when we dropped them off) and when we arrived Lucy was repeatedly trying to visit Esther in her cage and Esther was hissing at her. It had been going on the whole time. Once we got them home they purred for 4 hours straight. Poor things. I was thinking last night that we could have a home cat person if that person gave them canned food every day, because canned food will Always get them running to the kitchen. So maybe we'll do that; I think that would work. We'll try it.

I'd write more but I'm out of energy and time. More tomorrow....

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify