a hostile outburst

2002-08-13

Have you played computer Mahjong? Where you try to clear the screen of the funky little tiles? I've been doing this a lot lately at work, and sometimes I win, but mostly not. When I do win, the game tells me my score and then shows me the 10 highest scores and who got them. They are all me, under fake names (in the hopes that if anyone plays and wins, they will not see my name there over and over again), from about two years ago, and I can't imagine how I used to be so good at this game yet suck at it so badly now. Computer Mahjong used to be my bitch, but now? Not so much.

This morning I woke up at about 4:00 and couldn't really get back to sleep. Francisco was also awake--I could tell--and we laid in bed trying to sleep but not succeeding very well. We hauled our asses out of bed at 6:30 and I made coffee and started getting ready for work, and Francisco got on the treadmill. At 7:00 the Boy got up and walked down the stairs far enough to be able to talk to us, and he said, "Francisco, when you're on the treadmill, can I take a shower?" We screeched with laughter, because the Boy was confusing water appliances (dishwasher, washing machine) with the treadmill, and basically, it was really cute. Boy trudged back upstairs to shower and get ready for school, and we kept laughing, quietly.

I got a forwarded email today that really ticked me off. It was one of those messages telling women the kinds of victims rapists look for, and how to keep yourself safe. I've received these before and they haven't bothered me, but this time I started thinking about how women are so frequently warned to protect themselves, to not be become victims. We are advised what to do if we are attacked, and I know I need to do everything I can to keep myself safe, but these emails make it sound like if women don't follow all the advice given, it will be our own fault if we are attacked. Like, if we wear a ponytail, for instance, (the email says attackers go for ponytailed women), then we're just asking for it. Here's a thought: How about if efforts are also concentrated on preventing men from raping women? Because if men stopped raping women, I think that would just be a lot better. And here's a warning to anyone who might potentially attack me: Buddy, I will crush your nuts and gouge your eyes and scratch you until your blood flows like water. You will receive the full force of my considerable wrath. Capische?

Sometimes I feel a little hostile.

Not a lot to report right now. Work is sort of going along, and things are good at home. Boy made dinner last night--spaghetti--and I think he'll be doing it once a week. His friend rang the doorbell last night while he was making dinner, and I heard him say, "I can't come out; I have to make dinner", and I know he felt important. Tonight I'll go home and Francisco will be at his Tuesday night shoot-em-up at the pistol range, so I'll scratch some dinner together and Boy and I will hang out. Big excitement at the homestead. I hope to sleep more tonight.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify