Huggy Bear's big day

2002-08-14

First of all, a big happy birthday to Huggy Bear, or rather the actor who played Huggy Bear on Starsky and Hutch. All I really remember about that show is the opening credits, where they are running to get in the car and one of them slides across the hood to the driver's side. As a child, I thought that was the coolest thing ever. As an adult, I find great joy in the name Huggy Bear. I mean, come ON--Huggy Bear? Also happy birthday to Steve Martin, who I love for many reasons. It was weird, this morning CNN was scrolling celebrity birthdays and they did Huggy Bear, but I had to find out from NPR that it was also Steve Martin's birthday. Why would CNN slight Steve Martin in favor of Huggy Bear? It's a mystery, and probably this is only interesting to me, so I will stop now.

Boy is doing okay with the whole middle school thing, but it would seem he is now obsessed with the way his hair looks. And, people? His hair always looks the same, no matter what he does with it. It is very short--growing out from a summer crewcut--and it is fairly thick but is stick-straight, and the front grows forward. Try as he might, he cannot make the top stand up and get spiky. He is spending 20 minutes on his hair every morning this week, and it's ridiculous. He was begging for some sort of new styling product (he has tried both gel and mousse, and both have failed to make his hair spiky), so Francisco gave him a placebo hair product. Francisco had some spray leave-in conditioner that was mostly empty, so he filled it up 3/4 with water and gave it to the Boy. Boy is mollified for now, but I'm sure it won't be too long before he is campaigning for something else. And I'm pretty sure we could find something that might Possibly make his hair do what he wants, but I'm not sure I want to encourage this much vanity in an 11-year old child.

I bring coffee to work with me every day, in my plastic West Wing travel mug, and every day I drink all the coffee. Every day when I get home I wash the cup, and when I take the lid off, there is Always about half an inch of coffee in there. Why is this? I drink all the coffee out of the cup but then at the end of the day there's some in there. Where is the coffee hiding when it should be cascading down my gullet? I feel that I am being taunted by my coffee cup; it is withholding the goods, purposely.

I've read the first 3 chapters of Fast Food Nation now, and man! I had no idea fast food companies are so evil. I knew they were doing heavy marketing to children (that's not hard to figure out), but I didn't realize they were doing vast amounts of research to figure out exactly How to market to children. They have friggin anthropologists prowling toy stores and stuff, studying children and what appeals to them! This stuff is sick, it really is. Never will I eat fast food again--Never! I recommend this book to all who have not read it.

I feel really boring today. I am still sleeping badly and I don't know why. Hopefully that will fix itself.

Tomorrow will be better.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify