go and look at the callipygian

2002-08-12

I need everyone to go on over here and check out the butt of Andy. It is a must-see! Tell him Eva sent you. While you're there, stick around and read The Rudy Letters, because they make me laugh very hard and they'll make you laugh too; I guarantee it.

This weekend was pretty good, though Francisco and I were seemingly struck down by the West Nile Virus on Saturday. Or, well...it might've been something else. But we both had little headaches and felt all logey. We worked in the yard on Friday, as previously reported, and on Saturday I found a tick on me! Francisco looked at it under a magnifying glass and said it didn't look like a tick, and I asked what else it could be, and he suggested a mole. A mole? A mole where I previously had no mole? A mole sprouted overnight and made the skin around it a little pink and irritated looking?! He pulled the mystery thing (please, it was a tick) off of me and it didn't hurt and there was a tiny bit of blood and I washed it and put on neosporin and it's all better now. I will watch the site to make sure I don't get the lyme disease rash, but otherwise I am fine.

Remember how Boy was having his vegan friend spend the night on Friday night? Well, that's not happening again anytime soon. Francisco went to the store and bought vegan sausages, soy milk and some Rice Dream (which, by the way, is Horrible--don't buy it), and for dinner we presented the kid with a vegan sausage in a bun, a salad, and a berry smoothie (made with the soy milk). The kid took one bite of his sausage and said he didn't like it. He picked at the salad and scarfed the smoothie. Francisco furnished him with an apple (cut up) and some peanut butter, which he ate in place of the sausage. An hour later the child went home (he only lives 2 houses over) and picked up a sandwich and french fries, which his dad had made him and put on a plate, wrapped to go. He BROUGHT IT BACK and ate it. Okay. If I found out the Boy had spent the night at someone's house and refused to eat the dinner they made him, on the grounds that he didn't like it, I would be pissed. Is it just me? Because I was raised to think that if you're at someone's house for dinner, you better damn well eat what they give you, regardless of whether you like it or not, because to not eat what you're served is impolite. Also, it seemed to be a prearranged thing that he would go get the sandwich and fries, and I don't understand that, because we made it clear we were getting special vegan foods to accommodate his diet. On Saturday the kids had cereal for breakfast (with soy milk for Mr. Vegan) and then for lunch Francisco made the vegan kid a peanut butter and honey sandwich, at the kid's request. While he was eating the sandwich, his sister rang the doorbell and said that he had to go home right then to have lunch. Kid gets up, leaves the half-eaten sandwich, and goes. Bottom line--I will never feed that child anything ever again. EVER!

Otherwise, did a lot of errands and chores this weekend. Got Boy all ready to start back to school today (I've been worried all day, hoping middle school is treating him better than it treated me), and did other things that needed to be done. I also went to the library and got, amongst other things, Fast Food Nation, which I've been wanting to read for awhile. I read the introduction last night and it really sucked me in. I think it's going to be good and interesting and I also think I will never eat fast food again. That can only be a good thing.

More tomorrow, my little musk melons...

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify