you got your pissy in my competent

2002-04-04

I am a strange mix of competent and pissy today. The competent ingredient comes from continuing to be caught up with work while fielding phone calls (the phone started ringing today in earnest--it will be like this until May 1) and being generally a ray of sunshine to the people placing the calls. The pissy comes from having to work with a couple of people who think their shit doesn't smell, and believe me; it does. Do you work with people like that? People who think their worth is greater than rubies, but really it's more on a par with cubic zirconia? It is hard to take, especially because these people are terrorizing my favorite coworker and making her miserable. On the one hand I would like to subject these rotten people to a "come to Jesus" meeting, to tell them how awful they are and how much I detest them for being mean to my friend. On the other hand, if I do that they will turn on me, and while my friend is quitting this office soon (April 30 is her last day), I will continue to be here, subject to these horrible women and their backbiting ways. It would be fun to rip them a new one, but ultimately it would not be worth it. So I'm cranky. Who can blame? Who has the cojones to step forward and throw a blaming stone? Bring it on.

I want to write about West Wing, and say how good it was, but I say that exact same thing every Thursday (feel free to check), so I'm not going to bother. Or maybe I should develop a shorthand for it, and say something like, "WW=!" What do you think? I think yes. They sure humanized the VP last night, and that was Great, because he hasn't been a very well developed character so far. And that thing with Donna and the teacher? We misted up during that scene when Donna was on the phone with her. So. Very. Good.

Have to cut this short today because I need to leave a little early, so as to get to Boy's track practice. Francisco took Boy there but we have to do a hand-off, as Francisco has a meeting to go to tonight. He'll probably have to miss Survivor, so I will be the good wife and tape it for him. Tomorrow I have to leave a little early too, and I'll tell you why: David Sedaris! We got tickets a couple of months ago to see him speak, and that's tomorrow night. We're going to dinner beforehand with friends who are also going to see David Sedaris, and that should be a lot of fun. I'm switching my BFL free day to tomorrow so I can have a good dinner AND a cocktail. I'm thinking vodka martini, but maybe I'll go with a Long Island Iced Tea if I'm feeling reckless.

Have a good night, sweetpeas!

Love,

E

PS Go say hi to Joleen-- it's her birthday on Saturday!

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify