up to my ass in lawyers

2002-04-03

I am an unbelievable whirlwind of activity today--I think the prospect of going on vacation this summer has motivated me. Dynamiterave brought up two good points in my guestbook yesterday; one of them was about my vacation. He said that he would consider Amsterdam/Belgium/France/Germany to be exotic, and I just want to clarify that when I said I was thinking of an exotic vacation initially, I meant somewhere like Thailand or Morocco. Somewhere we wouldn't speak the language at all, and somewhere we would not blend. Clearly Amsterdam/Belgium/France/Germany is Waaaaay more exotic than North Carolina, but just not quite as exotic as Fiji or someplace.

Dynamiterave's other point was to ask why we bought the iMac when we were supposed to be getting the g4, and I forgot to say that we're not getting it now. Francisco talked his sister and her husband into keeping the g4, since her husband was a film major and all that. He might actually use the editing and DVD burning capabilities of the g4, whereas we Never will.

Working hard at work does not make for an interesting diary entry; something which is painfully evident at this moment. But the work is making me feel a lot less stressy, because I'm all caught up and even a little bit ahead with some things. I'm going to sleep Very well tonight.

Oh oh! The Osbournes was really good last night. I didn't watch it then but I taped it and Francisco and I watched it this morning. We went to the gym and were home by 6:15 in the am, so lots of free time in which to view the show. I thought it was a cool episode because they go on tour and it's interesting to see what goes on behind the scenes. Nice tour bus too. If you watched it (or if you plan to watch it when they rerun it this weekend), wasn't it great when Ozzy was taunting the bulldog with the barking toy bulldog? She was going batshit, in a playing way. Also, Ozzy was funny when exercising with the personal trainer-sort of cute and feeble. I wish I knew the Osbournes personally, because I think they're my kind of people. Except that I don't throw hams into my neighbors' yards or get bleeped nearly as much.

You know, in my past I only had one dealing with a lawyer, and that was when we bought our house almost 3 years ago (it was a For Sale By Owner, so we needed a lawyer for the paperwork). But right at this moment, we have 2, count em, 2 lawyers working for us. One is the probate lawyer who is helping with Francisco's dad's estate, and the other is the adoption lawyer. The adoption is sort of on its way now; we need to send back an enormous sheaf of paper (a questionnaire primarily about Boy's biological parents--most of my answers were "unknown"), and that will be going back this week. My brother (who by the way has fallen off the wagon yet again and is back on the heroin--more about that some other time) signed the release papers and sent them to the lawyer last week. Boy's mom was sent the release papers but is no longer at the address she was at previously, so the lawyer will need to resend them to the new address. I'm sure that by the time the papers arrive, she will have moved again. She is a rootless drifter, and lord only knows how long it'll take her to sign the papers, especially since she needs to have a notary present. Because of that I cannot even estimate when the adoption will be final, but I really hope it goes through by summer; that would be nice.

It's a warm, semi-humid day today, and we're supposed to get thunderstorms this afternoon. I wish they'd hurry the hell up, because if it's thunderstorming, Boy's track practice will be cancelled. If it's not thunderstorming, I will have to face the dilemma of whether to make Boy go to track. He says his feet hurt, and I don't want to make him run if his feet really do hurt, but I just don't know if he's shamming or not. Francisco thinks his feet hurt after he's run around all day because he's growing, and that might be the case, but if he keeps complaining about his feet, I am taking him to a doctor. Or rather, Francisco is, because my work doesn't allow time for doctors right now.

I think I'll just end this now, because for the life of me I can't think of anything amusing to say. I'm very happy West Wing is on tonight, and this will carry me through the rest of the day.

Until tomorrow then, my little buttery biscuits (mmm�biscuits�),

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify