unable to slack

2002-04-05

Francisco and I got our passport photos taken at lunch, and they turned out pretty good. I've been laughing at Francisco's pictures lately, because his driver's license photo and now his passport photo both have these shadows underneath his ears, and the shadows make him look like he has a mullet. His picture is okay except for the faux mullet, and mine is okay except that I look kind of tired and slack-faced. I figure I'll look like that when I'm travelling, so no big deal.

Last night I dreamt I was choking on a long string of beads that was down my throat. In the dream, the beads had apparently been tied to something outside my mouth, but they had come untied and were sliding down my throat. I woke up in a panic and tried to cough them out, and then I stuck my finger in there trying to reach them, but I couldn't. I hate when I have these hallucinations, because my hand lotion tastes Really Bad. Fortunately I didn't wake up Francisco with my delusions, and I came to my senses quickly enough to have no problem going back to sleep. I think this is choking dream #686.

Survivor: (for you, erlenweg) I was disappointed that Gina was given the heave-ho, because I like her pretty well and I thought they'd boot Kathy, since she is really irritating. I didn't want the Maraamu tribe to lose that challenge, because I wanted to see Rob voted out. This is because I can't stand the thought of him winning $1 million; the sooner he is out of the game the better. I loved that Maraamu won the food challenge out from under Rotu--that was some good television. I wonder if the food caused Maraamu any digestive problems, as has happened on previous Survivor shows. Nothing was said about that, so maybe they were able to�[ahem]�retain the food for awhile. What the hell was that beverage they got with the food? The one they all squealed with delight over? Is it some new kind of soda? I wouldn't have squealed over anything but beer. I love how Survivor is so unashamedly corporate. Shouldn't be long before they haul out the merchandise from Target.

I'm so excited to see David Sedaris tonight! The dinner with friends beforehand will be nice too. I've made this my BFL free day for the week, but I'm doing the BFL food until dinner, which will be free. The boss brought donuts today, but I have abstained so as to keep closed the gates of gluttony. [Btw, the boss threw a little tantrum when he thought the few cream-filled/chocolate-iced donuts had all been taken (leaving only the mediocre plain donuts he purchased in abundance), but I pointed out that there was one left, so he was appeased. He can be such a child.] I found out the restaurant we're going to tonight only serves beer and wine, so that takes care of the cocktail dilemma (damn!). Maybe they'll have Red Oak Lager, my current favorite. And keep it coming, bartender.

Work is really busy. Two different people have separately compared our office to a beehive, but I prefer anthill. I'm keeping up, and it's a novel feeling. I am used to being more of a slacker than this, but being efficient feels kind of good. I think I'll continue it for awhile.

Yesterday I drank 140 ounces of water--I just thought you should know.

Have a great weekend! I will report back about David Sedaris on Monday.

Love!

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify