Wonder Girl

2005-05-06

Last night after dinner, Boy noticed a little girl (4 or 5 years old) riding a bike around in the cul-de-sac, with her mom looking on. This was the outfit the girl was wearing: White and pink bike helmet, red cape, long-sleeved white t-shirt, blue Wonder Woman briefs (dark blue with white stars), gold sash/belt, dark brown cowboy boots. She was Loving that outfit. She was occasionally getting off the bike so she could run and have the cape fly behind her. As she rode off into the sunset, we could see the training wheels on her bike, and somehow they capped the outfit off perfectly. It almost makes me want a little girl so I could let her choose her outfits, but instead I will provide our niece, Lou, and her impending little sister with scads of funny clothing, and their mom and dad can take pictures of their outfits.

This morning I did not sleep very well. I've thought and thought about what could possibly have disturbed my sleep and have concluded it must've been the 14+ pound cat who was hogging up almost all of my pillow. Do you know, Esther (the cat in question) actually had the temerity to put her feet on my shoulder and push, in an attempt to make me give up that tiny corner of pillow with which she had left me? I was too tired to try to move her (she can make herself very heavy when she wants to) so I let her stay, but she better not try that again tonight, because I will move her 70 pound, protesting ass right offa there.

The cashew butter? That we got to put in our oatmeal? Is really good in there; I had it in oatmeal this morning, with a spoonful of apricot jam, as well. I was, however, complaining (very mildly) about the cashew butter, because it's not hydrogenated (or whatever), so the oil was floating on the top, and I find that to be a pain in the ass. Francisco made fun of me:

Francisco: [patronizing voice] Oh, that's okay, honey. I'll stir it for you.
Me: I'm not talking to you ANYmore! From now on, the Boy will communicate with you on my behalf. Boy, tell Francisco I'm going to go take my shower.
Boy, to Francisco: Eva said to give me twenty dollars.

That kid is so funny.

We have only a couple of things going on this weekend. The first thing is not so good, namely that I'm taking the cats to the vet tomorrow morning for their yearly check-up and shots. The yowling will be off the charts, I'm sure. The second thing is very good--our friend, Miles, will be in town tomorrow for a wedding and he's going to stay with us tomorrow night. Woo-hoo! I stocked up on puh-lenty of wine for the occasion. Sunday we'll make brunch and will hang out, and Boy will disgrace Miles by beating him in various Playstation games. Awesome! This'll be a good weekend.

Today it's been 5 months since I had a dessert, and I feel like a million bucks, for real. I'm almost Excited to get my cholesterol tested next time, because I've been eating so healthy the cholesterol Must be normal now, especially since it was only a little high to start with. I wonder if a cocktail would help too? Hmm. LET'S GO FIND OUT.

Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify