...and then I woke up this morning

2005-05-09

Hello, Friends!

This was a pretty damn good weekend. Not long enough, but they never are, right? The weekend started out oddly; there was a disconcerting piece of mail waiting for me when I got home from work on Friday. I would ask you to guess what it was, but that would be annoying and you probably couldn't guess, so I'll just tell you: It was an invitation to my 20-year high school class reunion. I was pretty sure it would be along at some point, but it was still a shock to my system and I had to have two gin and gingers and lie down for ten minutes before I started to recover. The RSVP form has some questions on it that the organizer [see also: this guy] would like answered, even if I'm not attending (which I am SO NOT); things like how I have changed most in the past twenty years and if anything really interesting has happened to me in that time. He included similar questions on the 10 year reunion RSVP form, and I filled it out with whatever nonsense came to mind at the time (I scaled Mt. Everest; I saved a baby who'd fallen down a well--you get the idea), but this time I think I want to tell the truth, tempting though it is to talk about how beloved I am in Japan and about how I had the former pope's private number on speed-dial. We'll see.

Oh, but speaking of the pope [wait for it], when Miles visited this weekend we had a Fantastic time--he's so much fun, even when he's tired and hungover from his previous night out at a bar where he drunkenly tried to convince people he is from Nebraska. Ever the generous one, he gave us an enormous, framed photo of Pope John Paul, autographed from the Pope himself* with silver metallic ink. The writing said something about "what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas", and blessed us, and really I should've written it down so I could tell you exactly what it said, because it's at home and I'm at work. The point is, it's hilarious, and I want to bring it to work for my office, but Francisco is gently talking me out of it; he is the voice of reason. Miles told me something yesterday morning that popped back into my head today and won't leave. He said he'd once seen a shiny, new BMW that was pristine except someone had keyed "FUCKO" into the hood. I thought of it when I saw my boss's fancy pants car this morning, and FUCKO keeps parading through my head at regular intervals. I think it might be my new favorite non-word.

And speaking of new favorites [are you noting these smooth segues? I got a new shipment this week and these segues are Dynamite!], this weekend I started obsessively reading all of Hissandtell's entries. I started from the newest, at first, but then today I went back to the beginning, and basically I have read all of 2003 and 2005, and just have Jan-Sept 2004 to go through now. She surely wonders who is stalking her, since I have spent HOURS reading her diary, and it's because she's geniusy and extremely entertaining. Something which enhances her already considerable charm for me is the funny Australian colloquialisms she uses (since she's Australian, duh): "Dog cock red", for instance--that's not something we use over here in 'Merika. Pity, that, because how descriptive! We've really got to try harder with our language, people.

For Mother's Day, I received a lovely bowling pin (white with a red stripe) from Francisco--he got it to put out in the garden, because he knows how desperately I long to fill the garden with things that aren't plants. He installed it while I was sleeping yesterday and pointed it out to me after I got up. He is so sweet and that bowling pin is making me very happy. I need to get some bright-colored bowling balls to go in the yard, too, but I think I'll wait until we have our yurt. Boy bought me some fanTAStic lime green plastic dishes (secondhand; they're from the 50s) that are so cool and I Love them, and we ate our pancakes and bacon off of them yesterday morning. Yesterday was a great day and I am very lucky to have menfolk in my life who know to head straight to the flea market when they're shopping for my gifts.

And now if you'll excuse me, I've got a dinner date with my new dishes.

Love,
E

*nah |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify