interesting mixer, Sharon

2002-04-24

No update yesterday because I was just too freaking busy. I intended to update; I logged onto D-land yesterday during my lunch hour, but I spent the whole hour catching up on my favorites. They were just what I needed. My stress is huge and unmanageable right now, and it's coming out as anger. Yesterday afternoon I had some dumbass (someone who works where I work, but in a different office) call me up to ask me questions she should know the answer to, and if not, someone in her department should train her on the shit. I was trying to help her, to walk her through stuff, but I got so frustrated by her complete lack of knowledge that I took the receiver away from my ear and throttled it, hearing the plastic crack. I managed to continue being nice to the woman but when I hung up I was compelled to throw my water squeezy across the room ("water squeezy" is what I call the little envelope-sealing bottle that you put water in and it has a sponge on one end. I never use it, and also I don't know its official name.). It whacked the filing cabinet in a satisfying way, and water sprayed around. I am going insane. I said something stupid that I didn't mean last night to Francisco, and then I apologized and explained that I am stressed because my job sucks, and he felt bad, like he's to blame for my stress. I told him it's not his fault, but he feels that it is, that if his dissertation was done and he had a job, I would be able to quit this job and get a different one. So I feel bad for making him feel bad, because I don't feel it's his fault, and I don't blame him. In just one week from today, much of my job stress will be lessened, so I will hang on until then. But I know this stress is terrible for my health, and I'm not sure how to make it better. One thing Francisco suggested is that I not go into Boy's room anymore. His room is so messy all the time, and when I get stressed at work and stuff at work is crazy, I want things at home to be in order. Boy's room definitely isn't, so it's been pissing me off just to go in there lately. I think this is a good suggestion and I will take it. Francisco also encouraged me to sleep in and not go to the gym this morning, but I don't think that would help. I need to lift the weights for my BFL--I can't let even one component of the program slide, because I know myself too well. If one thing slides, others will follow. It is not good, but it is the way of Eva.

Sorry to go on and on, but damn. I hate April at work. April at home is kind of nice, when I'm not cranky, because the perennials are all coming back. The irises are blooming, the roses are budding, and the hostas have magically reappeared and are already pretty big. I like the yard, it makes me happy.

Last night I joined Francisco in watching a tape about the Haj, the Muslim pilgrimage to Mecca. Francisco is teaching a comparative religion class right now and he is on Islam. He sometimes shows videos but he screens them first so he'll know what parts are relevant. The tape was fascinating. Saudi Arabia sure runs a good Haj, let me tell you. They put up eNORmous tent cities at the different places where pilgrims rest for the night. Freaking huge tent cities, and it appeared they were organized by country. At one point pilgrims pick up small rocks to throw at a pillar at another point, and the pillar is in kind of a funnel so that the rocks fall down and out the funnel, and presumedly into a dumptruck to take them back to the place rocks get picked up. Watching the Haj made me think of Disneyland, because every step is so orchestrated and streamlined. It was amazing and I was sorry to learn that you cannot go to Mecca if you are not a Muslim. I bet a person could sneak in, pretending to be a Muslim, but I guess it wouldn't be nice, or smart, to try it.

We taped the Osbournes last night and watched it this morning before work, and it was a good one. Can you believe Sharon peed in the liquor bottle? Kelly apparently wrestled it from her and dumped it out, but still; good idea. If you watched it, did I hear correctly when Kelly said, "Mom, that's almost as bad as in Hawaii, when you shat in dad's bag of weed"? I'm not sure I heard right, because part of it was bleeped. That Sharon--what a nut! I'm sure you've heard that MTV wants to make a second season of the Osbournes, and I want to officially go on record as saying I'm against the idea. I think the reason the show is so good is because the family didn't know how huge it would be, so they were more candid. Now that they know how many millions of viewers they have, would they be as natural on a second season? I doubt it.

That's about all I have time for today, sweet patooties, except to say that I'm totally nauseous today and I'm not sure why. This happens sometimes, I get a sort of mild nausea that lasts all day, and just today I am thinking that maybe I get nauseous the day I ovulate. Because I think I did today. Ovulate, that is. Too much information? All signs point to yes.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify