non-alien probing

2002-04-25

First of all, thank you for the encouraging words in my guestbook, and to the nice people who emailed me recently. I am totally going to write you back. I am happy to report that I got a shitload of stuff done yesterday and am feeling considerably less stressed because of it. Things will pick up again, stresswise, Monday-Wednesday of next week, as students and parents get frantic about the May 1 reply deadline, but then there should be less stress. It looks like it's all going to work out again this year; who knew?

You know how I love Trading Spaces? Well, if you watch the show, do you think Hilde and Ty are getting it on? Because I think they are; I am convinced of it. Ty has become quite attentive to Hilde in recent episodes, and he even called her "honey" in last Saturday's celebrity episode. It was as though he were used to calling her that; like it came out absentmindedly, even. Cast your votes--getting it on or not getting it on? They both live in Atlanta you know.

I am so foolish--really really foolish. I worked myself into a minor frenzy this morning because I had a doctor appointment at 1:00 and I always get a little freaked out about going. It's ridiculous, because it was just a checkup--I do not have any health complaints or issues at this time--but I still got worked up. I'm not Scared to go, per se, but I always feel I have to be poised to argue with doctors, and that makes me anxious. I know it's dumb to feel that way, but I started feeling that way several years ago when my sister got sick. It was at that point, when my sister was in ICU and at death's door, that I realized some doctors will not make the effort to figure out if something is wrong with you as long as they can explain away your symptoms or complaints. My sister was a victim of this--she was told, every day for a week, that she had strep throat and that was the only thing wrong with her, when in fact she had developed a serious infection that ended up almost killing her. I have internalized the idea that I have to fight with doctors to make them listen to me and I know this is not always true, but it is still what I think about every time I have to see a doctor. So yeah, I got myself totally worked up about seeing the doctor, for a simple checkup (including a probing, which is never pleasant), and the doctor could not have been nicer or more concerned for my health. Everything went absolutely fine and I feel good about the appointment and my doctor. I picked a winner with her--I'm glad I switched. She complimented my tattoo, and that's always gratifying. One thing that occurred that I am kind of glad about is, when the nurse took my temperature, it was 100.6. Do you know what this means? It means I don't have to do the treadmill when I get home! This morning I was feeling quite tired so I decided to do my exercise after work, but I firmly believe one should never do aerobic exercise when one has recently been feverish. I asked the doctor if the fever could have resulted from stress and she said no, that she thinks my body is probably just fighting off something. This might explain my tiredness, and it surely means I shouldn't do the treadmill tonight. I will do the weightlifting tomorrow morning and continue on from there. Do you think the fever requires a cookie treatment?

Last night I went to the library and checked out some books, including a book on tape for car listening. It is 'Cause Celeb', by Helen Fielding (she wrote Bridget Jones' Diary), and I am enjoying it. I definitely prefer to read a book myself, but I'm warming to the enjoyment of listening in the car. Good book so far.

My favorite coworker is leaving--next Tuesday is her last day--and we're having a drawn-out going away festival for her. Tomorrow morning it's breakfast (I'm bringing scones, which I will not eat, and java chai, which I will), and tomorrow night it's cocktails after work, here at the office. I'm bringing vodka and that sour apple stuff so we can make the Jolly Ranchers. Monday we're taking her out to lunch, and thus will end the festival. I am collecting money to buy her a lovely parting gift (a gift certificate to the new mall), and we will present that to her on her last day. I'm sad she's leaving, because we share many interests and pet peeves, and I like talking with her. Plus, it's looking as though my boss is going to replace her with a woman we interviewed last week; someone I didn't particularly like. At this point I don't have the energy or time to care who he hires (and I'm also sure my opinion won't change his decision of who to hire), but I think if he hires that woman we will all regret it. MARK MY WORDS.

You remember how I got ordained awhile back? I still haven't done anything with that ordination, so I'm wondering if anyone wants me to marry them or something. Anyone? Any christenings or union blessings or exorcisms needed? This ordination is going to waste, for sure.

Tonight is Survivor, and I think it's going to be really good. I want to see the three alliance people quaking in fear now that their leader got voted out last week. Good times.... West Wing was good last night. It was not a real episode, but the scenes they showed of upcoming episodes were Very Intriguing. CJ gets death threats! It's going to be So Good.

I guess that's it. Have a terrific night!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify