I turn my camera on

2005-12-05

Okay, I'm going to have to be a big weasel today and again postpone Songs of the Day, as I was unexpectedly summoned to the conference room to fold and stuff letters for 2 hours this afternoon. This means I didn't get my work done early enough to spend time messing around with mp3 blogs, but I swear, I will make it up to you.

We went for a walk yesterday and I took some pictures (with the digital camera). These are the two that seem best liked on Flickr:

pods and leaves

sky dos

And this one is my favorite:

thingy on a wire

I so love taking pictures. And speaking of which, did you know dollar stores sell cameras?? I had no idea, but on Saturday morning Sharky and I were out doing a spot of Xmas shopping and we went to a dollar store, because I wanted to see if they have film (some people on Flickr claim super cheap film produces weird and fun colors, so I'd like to try it out) and I'm not actually sure if they had film because if they did it was behind the counter and I couldn't read some of the labels. What I could see were cameras for $1, so you'd best believe I'll be purchasing one of those at some point; it'll be a fun experiment. Another photography thing, I got the back off the Contaflex this weekend (it ended up being pretty simple, actually--I feel dumb for thinking it was difficult) and I think it's probably not going to be operational. The shutter works, but there's a black flap that opens and closes, in addition to the shutter, and the way it's working right now, the flap is opening when it shouldn't be . I'm going to see if I can get the lens off (it seems to be rusted or otherwise stuck on) to see if there's any way to fix it, but I'm not all that hopeful. It was only $5 and was, therefore, a gamble I was willing to take, and maybe I can make it into a pinhole camera so it'll be useful anyway.

It's been raining all day here and has gotten very cold (well, for HERE it's cold. probably in the mid 30s right now), but Francisco is making omelettes, toast, and salad for dinner, plus wine. I ask you, can you imagine a better dinner on a cold, rainy night? Please take into consideration that I will be wearing pajamas while eating it; that greatly adds to the fantasticness.

Love,
E

PS I only made the one batch of bloody marys this weekend and I'm intrigued by y'all's suggestions for horseradish. You might be asked for some followup, later on. Dear O-Bento, Can I have your bloody mary recipe? The recipe I was using didn't include horseradish (which seemed extremely wrong to me) so I just grated some in but it must've been too much. See also: bitter.
|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify