catch-up entry

2002-08-30

I didn't watch the MTV Video Awards last night, but I caught the recap on CNN this morning. Can I just say that Shakira bugs the crap out of me? I am convinced her only real talent is shaking her ass, because she does it in all her videos, and she did it last night during her performance. Does anyone else know what I'm talking about? That ass shaking thing? It's like she's an ape in heat, inviting all the male apes to 'climb on, boys'. Someone needs to buy her some additional dance moves.

So it's been raining the past few days, and this morning I was watching the weather on the local 24 hour news channel, and they advertised a special weather show, tonight at 8:00. They are calling it 'The Week It Rained', and it will recap the rain we've had this week. True Story. This news channel is incredibly lean on content, but I can't believe they would stoop to 'The Week It Rained'. It's like an SNL skit.

Yesterday when I was home "sick" I watched Amelie again, and then I went through a bunch of stuff we got Wednesday in the mail from Francisco's sister. She sent a scanner, which I am Thrilled about. I envision many joyful hours of scanning things with creative intent. I didn't have to "go through" the scanner, but I thought I would mention it. The stuff I needed to sort through was a pile of my stuff, circa 1985-1991, that she found in the garage at the ancestral home. The overall impression I received when looking through it was that I was lucky to get passing grades in college, what with the amount of time I spent doing bizarre things. Things such as cutting out weird magazine pictures to fit in a clear plastic pin-on badge (like you get at conferences and your nametag slides in). I had the idea to wear this pin, containing fun, interchangeable pictures, like a brooch, so I spent a lot of time cutting stuff out and then I only wore it a few times (I am considering resurrecting and wearing it now). I also found a bunch of really amusing ads and pictures cut from magazines (they are amusing when taken out of context), that I used to glue to paper in order to make personalized stationary. These pictures, combined with the scanner we got, will be an engrossing activity during the following weeks. Garments will be adorned with iron-on transfers, for sure. My favorite picture is of someone captioned as "Dr. Cookie". Also in the stuff was something I thought I'd lost for good, and I'm so glad I didn't. It is the first academic catalog I got from the school to which I transferred (and where I met Francisco). The reason I love this catalog is because Francisco's picture is on the cover. He has long hair and a moustache, and he is wearing a green sweater and yellow running shorts. He looks like a stoner freak, and that's what I thought when I saw that picture, before I ever transferred there. When I met him he'd cut his hair and was wearing more presentable clothes, and of course I fell in love with him, but I like that I thought he was a freak before I met him.

Otherwise yesterday, Francisco and I went out and had Indian food for lunch (so....good...) and we walked afterwards, for exercise and digestion. And last night I made dinner--chili with ground turkey and black beans, cornbread, and salad. Simple but good. I talked to my friend, Isabel, last night. She is mulling over the idea of going to nurse school, but she doesn't really think she'll do it. But it's a good idea, what with the nurse shortage.

I got up early this morning and treadmilled. I showered and then I did something I haven't done for months: I put on pantyhose. They are killing me, I feel so constricted. I Must go buy some more pants so I don't have to wear these rotten things. My boy coworker keeps saying that wearing a tie is worse than wearing pantyhose, but a tie only goes around one small portion of the neck, and pantyhose go on your whole legs and up to the waist. How is being squeezed on more than half your body surface better than being squeezed on a little bit of the neck? He is an idiot.

Before I left for work this morning the cats were hounding me for more food, even though they seemed to have plenty. We keep their food under the butcher block in the kitchen, and because they were bugging me I thought I would give them a little more, and when I brought the bowl out into the light I could see that Esther had puked into it. She must have a very small brain. She eats grass outside and then comes in and eats food and then she barfs it back into the bowl. And then neither cat will touch the food again until the barf is removed. I fixed the situation, but I'm glad I checked because I couldn't really see there was barf in there when the bowl was in its place. Because the barf is the color of the food, see.

Wow, that's gross. Sorry. Tonight we will watch The Patriot, which is the Netflix movie we have left. We're hoping to get another one in the mail on Saturday, but it might not be until Monday. No other weekend plans as of yet. It will probably rain much of the time (which is Great), so we'll do indoor things.

Remember how I was planning to buy a lighter to hold up, a la the Freebird thing, at inappropriate moments? Someone who works in another office on campus was in my office on Friday of last week, and she left her lighter. And it's red, the color I would've bought. She hasn't come back to claim it, so I figure it's mine now. Woo! Freebird! Going right in my pocketbook.

Gotta go work hard now--I have some actual important things to do this afternoon. I hope all is well with all of you.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify