It's a girl!!

2001-10-30

People, people! I have a niece!!!

Her name is Lucia, and she is 8 lbs, 14 oz, and 19 inches long. She is freshly born, having been C-sectioned out of my sister-in-law about 10 minutes ago. I was predicting a boy, during the whole 9 months, and I have never been so glad to be wrong, because I really wanted a niece. My mother-in-law is thrilled, I'm sure, because she wanted a granddaughter for many reasons, not the least of which is the 'mother's curse'. I refer, of course, to the old, "when you have a daughter, I hope she'll be just like you and then you'll see what I had to contend with". I'm sorry my sister-in-law had to have the C-section, because she did Not want to, but it was necessary because the labor wasn't progressing and because the baby was apparently pooping in the womb. I don't know how the doctors knew that, but they did.

Wow, I really want to go shopping for the baby, now that I know it's a girl. As mentioned in a previous entry, it's too bad the baby industry is so geared toward gender identification, because no one can shop adequately if they don't know the sex beforehand. Unless the people shopping really like pastel green and yellow.

Otherwise, earlier today Francisco and I went to the yarn store and got yarn for the scarf I'm going to make him (now that I've practiced on one scarf already), and while there I looked at their class list and decided to take a two-part class that is next month. It's an intermediate kind of thing, and it teaches people how to read knitting patterns. I really need someone to give me that info, because currently knitting patterns might as well be written in Urdu.

That's about it, I have nothing else to report. I would try to come up with something else, but I want to get home earlier today for some reason, so bye for now, and more tomorrow.

Love,

E

PS Oh wait, there IS one other thing I wanted to say. Thank you very much to the people who recently linked to my diary--I feel honored that you would find my diary worthy of linkage. Yay! |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify