freak pants

2001-10-29

Hi Everybody! [Hi Doctor Nick!]

I had me a pretty good weekend; how about you?

I've griped about this before, but it is So hard to choose a movie that can be enjoyed by both adults and a ten year old. When selecting a movie to rent on Friday night, I thought I'd struck it rich with The 6th Day. Qualifications: Arnold Schwartzenagger (10 year olds like him), action movie, PG-13, so not too sappy, supposedly. Also, it had the Ebert and Roper "Two Thumbs Up" stamp of approval. However. People, this movie was crap. If you haven't already seen it, I recommend you don't. The dialogue All The Way Through was so unbelievable and was not helped by bad acting on the part of everyone. It wasn't on a hell-level equal to Cats and Dogs, but it was pretty bad.

It made me wonder about "Two Thumbs Up". It made me think perhaps that was not the whole statement; perhaps the "Two Thumbs Up" was part of a larger statement about the movie. Some examples:

"We'd rather have our toes amputated by ducks than give this movie two thumbs up."

"If we were to recommend this movie, you would be right to assume we have two thumbs up our asses."

"Two thumbs up? Not on your life, Sparky!"

The only good thing about The 6th Day is it featured the cloning of pets and got me thinking about Esther and how I should save some of her toenail clippings and fur bits, in case pets can be cloned someday. IMO, Esther is the best cat ever, so I want to save her DNA, just in case.

We rented another movie on Saturday night and it was good. It was 'King of Masks'--Chinese with subtitles. Recommended. We also had teriyaki chicken Saturday night. I ate too much and got a stomachache. Not recommended.

The house smelled so good Friday night. Francisco pulled out all the basil from the garden (temps got below freezing Friday night, so the basil would have been all ruined anyway), pulled off the leaves, and we dried it all in the oven. He also cut some rosemary to put in with the cut roses, so there was much herbalicious goodness going on.

We did some shopping this weekend. We looked for a specific piece of furniture for our house, but then decided to move stuff around and get a whole other piece of furniture instead. Hence, the search will have to continue. I also went shopping yesterday, trying to find pants. I went to the TJ Maxx first, and I ran into my very good friend, Kimberly. Kimberly is a shopping maven. She works in bargain-hunting the way other artists work in oils or clay. She and I trolled TJ Maxx and she found some great shoes on clearance (but then, she has size 6 feet, so it's easier for her), plus some underwear and other various things. I found a bar of soap that I've been coveting at expensive stores, and there was just the one bar. The soap is $12 everywhere else, but it was $6 at TJ Maxx. I put it into my cart, but when I went into the dressing room to try on clothes, my cart was filched, and the soap went with it. I took it as a sign that I should not buy the soap. Happy now, universe?

I ended up finding some pants, but not at TJ Maxx. Can I just say something I have been hearing from others for awhile now? The pants people are making are for Freaks! Who is supposed to fit into these pants? When I put on the freak pants, the waist is Way too big, the hips fit okayish, but the legs are Way too tight. Almost every stinking pair of pants I try on is like this. And perhaps not surprisingly, I have a theory. My theory is that pant designers measure supermodels, with their skinny hips and legs, and make the size 4 or 6 pants, but then when they make the larger sizes, they just increase the supermodel pant patterns incrementally and assume that they've done a good thing. Anyone with half a brain knows that when most human women gain weight, it is in their thighs and butt first, so why are those parts of the pants tight while the waist is huge? Silly designer asses.

Francisco dyed my hair on Sunday morning--he did an excellent job. Now when I look into the mirror, I see myself in Feria. Feria, by L'Oreal. You too can have this color...

Also on Sunday I finished the scarf I was knitting. I like knitting so much I'm going to make Francisco a scarf too; we're going at lunch tomorrow to get the yarn. I like spending lunch hours with him, and combining him with shopping is the best of both worlds.

And speaking of lunchtime shopping, today at lunch I went to Pier One and bought picture frames; Pier One had the exact kind I've been looking for. They also have tons of cool furniture and candles and dried tree bits and etc etc. I hadn't been there in awhile and I liked it.

Lastly, a semi-disturbing bit of news. It seems that Boy had been badgering Francisco for deodorant. Apparently some kids in Boy's class (5th grade!) are already wearing deodorant, and Boy wanted some too. So this weekend we bought him some, making sure it was just deodorant and not also anti-perspirant, and he is happy. He's only ten, he's not supposed to be growing up so fast! I am just trying to think of it as training deodorant.

I'm done now, and I have to leave work and buy cheddar on my way home. Francisco is making black bean burritos...mmm.....

Love to all--more tomorrow.

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify