checking it twice

2001-10-26

Oh my wax, So Much to talk about!

1) Probably lots of people know about this and I just missed the memo or something, but yesterday Francisco told me he heard a segment on NPR about seizure alert dogs. I had no idea some dogs can sense when an epileptic person was going to have a seizure--isn't that totally amazing?! Dogs.....is there anything they Can't do?

2) Survivor was so good last night! I loved that Boran won the water reward, and when they were running around the SOS sign I was totally howling. That was some good entertainment. And I would never have predicted that the "youngers" would gain power over the "olders" in the Samboru tribe--those olders need to start kissing the youngers' butts if they don't want to be voted out. I don't remember the name of that wacko woman who talks about goddesses and mother Africa all the time, but they should vote her out next. She's So Annoying. IMO

3) Last night I had two strange dreams.

A) A choking dream. In this one I had apparently swallowed something that was like a tiny trampoline, and the part that would be jumped on (if it was an actual trampoline) was made of rubber. I woke up in a panic and tried to wake Francisco, but he was sleeping the sleep of the dead. I was pretty pathetic, if I remember correctly. I recall saying, plaintively, "I need your help..." . It took me 5 minutes to realize that I hadn't actually swallowed a mini-trampoline, and in the meantime I was sticking my fingers in my mouth to try and remove it. I had hoped those choking dreams were gone for good.

B) A pregnancy dream. I dreamt I was 9 months pregnant and was just kind of waiting for my water to break, as a signal of the start of labor. It was very creepy, because my belly was all big and heavy and I felt So tired. F's sister should be giving birth any day now (today is the official due-date), so maybe I'm having her dreams.

4) And speaking of which, I went and bought the cute baby pumpkin hat today--the knit orange one with the green knit stem on top. It's so tiny--it's for a newborn--and honestly when I first saw it it took all my powers of control not to squeal. I'm not a squealing-type person, so you can tell this is some great hat. I'll mail it to F's sister on Monday, unless the post office is open tomorrow. I can't remember if they're open Saturday mornings.

5) When I was at the store where I bought the hat today, I saw some rockin' pajamas. If I didn't think $89 is an obscene amount to spend on pajamas, they would now be in my possession. They were just regular pajama-style pajamas, but the material was nice and thick, and they had various interesting patterns. The ones I liked best had girly shoes all over them.

6) You know how I have all those pairs of chunky plastic rings? My favorite ring was a black one that looks like a domino (a 6)--the dots were rhinestones and it was very cool. The first time I wore it, 2 of the rhinestones fell out and were lost (they are tiny), which was distressing, but I guess one cannot expect quality when one pays 49.5 cents for a ring. Anyway, after that happened I kept the ring but didn't wear it (since two of the rhinestones were missing), but this morning I decided to pry the remaining 4 rhinestones out and paint the holes white. I did that (using white fingernail polish), and wore it today, and I'm pretty happy that the ring is back in commission, because it's very cool even without the rhinestones. And yeah, I know this isn't breaking news or anything, but little things like that make me happy.

7) This morning I got stuck behind someone who used his turn signals Way too far in advance. Like, he would turn them on 1/4 mile from where he wanted to turn. So, open letter to him:

Dear Mr. Giving-too-much-turn-signal-notice,

Dude. 100 yards is adequate.

Sincerely,

Tattoobelly

8) I forgot to mention that at the fair last Sunday, someone had left a Chick Tract in one of the bathrooms. It was the Chick classic, "Somebody Goofed". I leapt upon it and snatched it up--it is a wonderful addition to the Chick Collection. Lots of hell-fire and demons.

9) I really adore Lyle Lovett. I listened to his 'Joshua Judges Ruth' cd this afternoon, and he is indescribably fabulous. Today I was in a record store and was looking for his cds, and the store didn't have him in country music; they had him in rock, which is much more appropriate. Do you like Lyle?

10) Autumn is here in earnest now--yesterday when I left work, acorns were absolutely Raining from the trees, for real. They were just falling constantly, making a really nice sound. And recently leaves are falling into the back of my truck while I'm at work and flying out when I'm driving home. I'm like the Leaf Fairy, spreading fallen leaves everywhere I go.

I've said my piece now and need to leave work and rent a movie on the way home. I hope the video store has a decent selection, because the last time I rented movies I didn't do so well.

Have a terrific weekend, and I'll talk to you next week.

Love,

E

PS For the last time: The ventriloquist goes to heaven; the dummy does Not! |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify