a potent stench

2001-07-09

Francisco emailed me this morning to tell me something that was so unbelievably funny, yet compellingly mysterious, that I can't rest until I tell you about it. I must quote him, so here you go:

"Esther just took a dump so powerfully vile that it set off the smoke alarm. I am not making this up."

Esther, in case you're unaware, is one of our two cats, and she really does have particularly stinky poo. But has anyone ever heard of stinky poo setting off a smoke alarm?! Because I haven't--not ever. That's some powerful poo, people. Knowing that Esther has this strange smoke alarm-setting-off power just adds to her many charms, as far as I'm concerned. I don't mean to knock Lucy (our other cat), but Esther is really the most amazing and terrific cat I've ever known. I'll have to set up a website about her at some point, to get the word out on her wonderfulness.

This was an okay weekend, but rather draining. Most of Saturday was spent getting the Boy ready for his big trip; laundry and packing and whatnot. We gave him his birthday gifts Saturday morning and he liked them, so that was gratifying. Went to bed early on Saturday night because we had to get up so early, so missed Saturday's Iron Chef, but more on Iron Chef later. Anyway, we got up at 4:30 yesterday morning and got dressed and took Boy to the airport. The checking in was so confusing because it was really loud in there and different employees were yelling different things at us as far as the forms needing to be completed and we couldn't hear and they were treating us like we were stupid. By the time we had checked Boy's bags and gotten the gate info and the paperwork to bring to the gate (for the "unaccompanied minor" thing, you know) we were rather traumatized and cranky. And for me, anyway, that made putting him on the plane by himself far more emotionally fraught. There were actually a good number of unaccompanied minors on that flight, which was, in a way, a little comforting, but it wasn't enough. They took Boy and his fellow children onto the plane first, so not much time to linger at the gate before he was gone. I tried not to cry but I failed--shed just a few tears, no big boo-hooing. We waited until the plane had taken off and then we left.

We went home and acted like zombies because we were so tired and drained. We drank a lot of coffee and ate a lot of pizza (left over from the night before) and watched MASH. Francisco also installed two ceiling fans while I "helped" (basically I handed him stuff he needed). At 1:15 I went to meet my friend, Kim, for lunch and a movie. We had planned to see Legally Blonde, but it's not out yet (damn!), so we saw Moulin Rouge. Kim really wanted to see it so I said okay, even though I wasn't too hot to see it. And it was alright; I didn't hate it. I have to say I don't care for musicals, and it was an extremely musical musical. I enjoyed some of the dance scenes and I enjoyed the costumes and decor, but it was So long and So angst-filled that I just couldn't really like it. Also, I dislike angsty movies because I always feel emotionally manipulated, and this felt more manipulative than most. But it was great to see Kim and talk and laugh and watch a movie, so it was worth it.

Boy called at about 7:00 last night to report that he was at his grandparents' and that the flights had gone fine. He had to change flights in Houston, and my parents had to pick him up in Portland (OR), and then drive him two hours to Eugene, where they live. He had napped on the plane and in the car on the way to Eugene, so he was feeling pretty chipper and excited to be there. My mom said they had worn funny things to meet him at the gate, and that she had worn some Groucho Marx-style glasses with nose and moustache. She said Boy got off the plane, looked at her, and said (deadpan), "Nice glasses, Grandma". She thought that was pretty funny. I'm glad Boy gets the chance to visit them, and I hope a good time is had by all. I'm sure he'll be ready to come home in a month. For one thing, he will miss watching Iron Chef.

How's that for a seque? I watched Iron Chef on Friday night and on Sunday evening, and I'd seen Sunday evening's--the pike eel battle. Friday night the theme ingredient was fatty tuna, and it was interesting. A non-chef competed against Iron Chef Italian, and he won! What a shakeup! The challenger was a sommelier, and he made dishes that he paired with wine (apparently quite expertly) and he won 3 to 1 (out of 4 judges). I don't think he really made the food himself; I think the assistants did it, but still. That was some good watchin'.

I went to bed at 8:30 last night. Sad and pathetic, maybe, but I feel much better today. I went to the gym this morning and ran/walked on the treadmill, did a little rowing, and lifted some weights. Francisco had gone out running and he was showering when I got home. I had come in quietly, so he didn't know I was there, and I was in the bedroom petting Esther. She was meowing in that loud and happy way she does when she is getting petted, and Francisco was talking to her from the bathroom, saying, "What? What?" Then he said, "What is it, Princess?" I thought that was the sweetest thing ever; I didn't realize he called her Princess when I wasn't around.

And speaking of Francisco, he's going to the dr. this afternoon to have a suspicious spot examined. It's on his thumb, and it's black and irregular so I am very happy he's having it looked at. It's only been on his thumb for about 3 weeks, max, so if (god forbid) it's actually skin cancer, hopefully it won't have been on there long enough to cause any real problems. Still it worries me.

Did I tell you I quit diet soda? I quit cold turkey over a month ago and I kind of miss the caffeine rush that comes from a diet mountain dew, but other than that no big deal. Francisco heard that aspartame in diet sodas can cause memory problems, and if there's anything I don't need it's memory problems. I've had regular soda a few times since quitting the diet soda but I don't want to make a habit of ingesting that many calories in beverage form when there is no nutritonal content. A smoothie, for instance, is a beverage with nutritonal content. As is a good oatmeal stout. ;-)

Alright, my sweet navel oranges, that's all for now. Talk to you tomorrow,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify