Marrow

2001-04-16

I had an email this morning inviting me to join the "Jaded or Angsty Diary Ring". Probably the email went out to everyone and their gardener's brother, and probably a reply wasn't expected but I sent one anyway. I basically said I get too much enjoyment out of life to fit in with the jaded and angsty crowd; that those people will never know the simple pleasure of a monkey knife-fight. Naturally I stole that last bit from The Simpsons, and I've used it before, but it cracked me up anyway.

I have a couple housefinches at my feeder right now--a male and female and I guess they're married, since housefinches mate for life, apparently. The female is chirping incessantly while she eats, and the male is not chirping at all--he looks bored. How stereotypical. Hopefully she's not complaining about the food.

My weekend was good; how was yours? On Saturday I came into work for a little while, to do some catchup, and then went and bought some tomato and basil plants, and two bonus poppy plants. Went home and had lunch, then set to work digging up the little garden bed we have, in preparation for the plants. I had forgotten that there are lots of willow roots that grow into the bed, from willows at least 10 feet away; they are such water hogs. The digging was hard work and I didn't finish on Saturday. Francisco and I finished preparing the bed on Sunday and planted our plants--4 regular tomatoes, 4 cherry tomatoes, and 4 basil. Saturday night we worked some more on staining the deck, and we still didn't finish it--the railing has a lot of small, vertical slats that are time-consuming.

Easter was pretty fun, I guess. Francisco and I had forgotten to prepare the Boy's baskets on Saturday night, but thankfully Francisco woke up at about 6:30 on Sunday and remembered the baskets. We got up and got them together and hid them, and the Boy got up about an hour later to hunt for them. He has said Easter is his favorite holiday, due to the basket hunt and, of course, the candy. From his grandparents he received (amongst other things) an action figure of a policeman, complete with German shepherd action figure sidekick. I asked him what he would name the dog, and after some consideration he said Bianca. Bianca! I love that so much.

In the afternoon on Easter we went with Francisco's mom and a couple of friends to dim sum, and it was really fun. We had a couple kinds of bao, several kinds of dumplings, some barbecued pork, some noodle/shrimp roll things, broccoli, squid, and spicy jellyfish. I was proud of the Boy for trying everything, including the jellyfish. He's gotten much braver about food in the past couple of years. After the dim sum, we went and got dessert and coffee, as the dim sum restaurant didn't have anything desserty to offer. Please--as though we really needed dessert. We have approx. 40 pounds of Easter candy at home. You are all invited over for Cadbury creme eggs.

Watched a couple movies this weekend--saw Almost Famous and Girlfight. I enjoyed them both, and I have to say I liked Goldie Hawn's kid (can't remember her name right now) a lot better than I thought I would. Still probably okay she didn't win the Oscar, but she was pretty good.

On an unrelated topic, can I just say how resentful I am that Britney Spears has published a novel? Can't she be satisfied with mediocre music; does she have branch out to mediocre books too? I know a good bit of my resentment is from jealousy, or maybe all of it, but it's obvious that her novel was published only because she's a teen singing sensation, and not because she has any real writing talent. I haven't read it, but I know that instinctively, trust me. Anyway, I know it's very mean to say, but I hope this first book will be the last we'll see of her literary talents. She needs to move over and give someone else a chance.

Tomorrow night we have friends coming over that we haven't seen in a couple of years. They're people we know from Seattle and they're in town visiting relatives. Francisco and I credit the man of the couple, Chris, with our marriage, because he knew both of us individually and hung out with us together a little bit, right as we were getting to know each other. They're great; I can hardly wait to see them. Chris plays bass and I plan to interview him thoroughly about the best way to learn bass and about good beginning basses and amps and all that. Chris has been in a few bands since I've known him, and one of the bands he was in wanted to put out a cd, so he and the bandmembers sold their bone marrow to get the startup money. At that point they were unnamed and were considering 'Marrow', due to their peculiar financing method, but they went with something else instead (can't remember the name, since it didn't have anything to do with bone marrow).

What's the nastiest thing you've ever eaten? Mine would probably be a fried fishhead, but I have to say that mashed turnips are right up there too.

Later kids,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify