shove the chocolate right in my face, why don't you?

2002-02-14

I've never been a big celebrant of Valentine's Day, and neither has Francisco. This year, however, I feel more like celebrating for some reason. I bought some lovely cards from Catiecake and sent them out to friends and family, and that was very fun. I decided to get Francisco's briefcase fixed for him, as a Valentine's gift, but the place I took it to yesterday would've had to order new handles, so I am going to take it to a luggage repair place that has handles in stock, but is about 30 minutes away. That will be a Saturday errand, and is not going to be a surprise. Francisco and Boy will come along on the errand, and we will also go to the only brew supply store in the area--we need to make at least two batches of beer; it is a joint venture with our friend, Steve. But I digress. I am making a cd for Boy, of a band he's specifically been requesting, and I bought him a large, yummy chocolate bar to go with it. Francisco's other gift is a secret for right now, as he reads my diary and I don't want him to have advance-notice. But do you know, he gave me my Valentine's gift last night, because he couldn't wait, and it is The Best Thing. He bought me a facial, a manicure, and a pedicure at a nearby day spa. Isn't that the Best?! I can hardly wait to go get my beauty treatments; I think I'll take a half day off either later this month or early next month. Too bad it's not summer, so that I could show off my post-pedicure feet in sandals, but I can't wait until summer.

Okay, so you know how I love West Wing and I look forward to Wednesdays so that I can watch it and love every minute of the show? I forgot yesterday that the Olympics were on, preempting my precious West Wing. When Francisco reminded me, I was so disappointed I actually shed a tear or two. I am a silly girl. I sort of enjoyed the speed skating, because that is a cool sport, but I am basically going to be happy when the Olympics are finished, because I miss West Wing too much. I know, I know, I should appreciate the Olympics more, and I would if they were on a different network, but you take away my West Wing and things get ugly.

What I did last night for an hour or so is finish my most recent re-reading of John Irving's 'A Prayer for Owen Meany', which I think is my most favorite book Ever. If you haven't read this book, you should. I have given this book to lots of people, and most have liked it, but some people say they "just can't get into it". It is a bit of a slow starter, but after the first chapter or so, it is Very Interesting, so if you find it hard to read at first, grit it out, baby. Grit. It. Out. The way the story falls together throughout, and especially at the end, is totally worth a slow start. I can't stress that enough. And I can't even tell you how good the book is--it is That good.

I've been listening to female jazz and blues singers today, and I must say that Etta James + 'At Last' = Pure Perfection. Also, Koko Taylor can really wail. That is all.

I had something else to say, but I can't think of it now. It will come to me and I'll mention it some other time, but for now I'm going to be done. Have a great, great evening, sugarlumps.

Love,

E

PS That hurt me more than it hurt you.

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify