mystery moisture

2007-07-06

You know what's really very disturbing? When you're walking down the street (in a commercial area) and you suddenly feel moisture misting you but you can't see where it's coming from. My GOD, what was misting me today?!?? I don't even want to imagine the possibilities.

Well it's Friday at last and I couldn't be happier about it. One of my coworkers (a fellow counselor) was out on vacation the whole week, plus BR's been out the last two days, and when people are missing it makes a lot more work for everyone else. I won't even go into how I was sternly encouraged by my supervisor not to take vacation during July (busiest month), which is when Mini wanted me to come visit, so I went during June instead, and now it's only the 6th and already vacations are being taken by people who aren't me. I mean, that doesn't bear bitching about, right? Even though it doesn't seem very equitable? Right. Anyway. It's been a shitty week at work, and it's been hot (a little cooler today--only 95-ish), and I have accomplished exactly zero of the week's goals so far. I tried to do one of them this morning before work (order a gift for my bro; I'm getting him a book), and I got all the way to the end of the ordering process--the last button click--and then it didn't go through and I got all sorts of error messages, plus then the site wouldn't come back up. I'll try again tonight so I can cross that one off my list; I have to do the other two on Saturday, and considering one of them will take me a good two hours, if not longer, I'll have my work cut out for me, especially since it will still be hot. The heat here is more bearable than in NC (drier here) but in NC we had air conditioning in our house, and that makes things a lot better. It's a sad and sorry thing when the mere exertion of folding clothes makes one break out into a marathon-runner's sweat.

Dig it, I haven't been to the gym at all this week hello LAZY. I walked with Christina on Monday evening and Wednesday morning, and we might go tomorrow morning maybe, but no gym. The main reason is because now that Francisco's employed, he's getting up at 5:00 and leaving the house at 6:15 every morning (starts work at 7:00). I could absolutely get up with him and go to the gym, but I've been preferring to get up with him and hang out until he leaves so I can spend that extra amount of time with him. I need to get over that impulse and just gym it--my fitness is suffering--and I vowed this morning that I'd get over it at 5:00 a.m. next Monday.

So, Flight of the Conchords--have you seen it? I hadn't even heard of it until the AtomicFriends started talking about it, but then I had Dennis pick it up right quick. My review: Awesome. Really quite funny, especially the songs, and you Know I have that New Zealand fetish (I still sort of want to move there), so this show is perfect for me. Also a television thing, I've been watching The Office (American version), which I sort of didn't want to do because I loved the British Office so much, but I'm really liking it. It makes me cringe a bit less than the British version for some reason--I think the American version is filmed and acted just differently enough to make it seem less like a documentary to me. Considering I had to watch most of the 2nd season of the British version Office as a reflection in the window behind the couch, because it was making me cringe so much, this is a good thing.

Plans for the weekend: I'll be polishing off my goals tonight and tomorrow, and on Sunday we're going over to Poulsbo to help Francisco's mom paint her house (the inside). I'll be honest; it's not really the way I Want to spend my Sunday, but it's for a good cause and will make her happy, so I'm going and will not complain even a tiny bit. As of right now.

Okay, I'm going to sign off now, call a person back, and do one or maybe two files before going home for the weekend. Have fun and be safe!

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify