CUT

2007-05-02

HA! AC Milan beat Manchester United, so Milan will be the ones my Liverpool boys play on the 23rd. This is really super excellent news--we were not looking forward to having to watch a Liverpool/Man U match-up with Sharky. He is ruthless in his derisive comments and is no fun to watch games with, let me tell you--all those swirling teenaged hormones make him a jerk at such moments. Anyway, I've marked my calendar for the 23rd and you might want to mark yours for the 24th if you don't want to read my recap of the match.

Last night I was planning to go to the new yarn store which opened just yesterday, but when I was making a salad to go with the dinner Francisco made (black bean soup and store-bought fresh sourdough bread) I cut my left thumb pretty badly and it sent me hurtling into a depressed state. I got it to stop bleeding and bandaged it up, so I could function, but I bruised the bone in the process of slicing my thumb meat, so anytime I bump it even a little, it hurts a pretty good amount (it woke me up a number of times last night: annoying). I am infuriated at my carelessness, mainly, but it's also a pain in my ass to not be able to do things which put pressure on my thumb, because what I found out is I do a lot more than I thought with my left thumb. I also found out that the making of salad is treacherous--it's how Francisco cut that piece of his finger off, and also Catie's Andy cut his thumb making salad last night too. If only Andy and I could meet up to feel sorry for ourselves; I bet that would be a real good time. I'm going to that yarn store tonight, which will also be a good time, but in a completely different way from wallowing in self-pity. I'm going to get some gorgeous yarn to make a present for my mum. Shhh, don't tell her!

I read a lot of Anderson Cooper's book last night; I'm almost finished. It has definitely sucked me in, that's for sure, so I'm giving it 4 stars. I slept poorly last night and almost didn't get up for the gym this morning--Esther cuddled up to me all purring and sweet just before my alarm went off and it took a lot of effort to pry myself away. I pedaled a bike for 40 minutes while reading Freakanomics and felt way better than I would have felt if I'd stayed in bed for that 40 minutes, I know, so I'm glad I went. Still I was in a rather low mood today until lunchtime when Baby Rich and I took a short walk then sat in the sun for about 45 minutes. That sun fixed me right up; it was rather miraculous. Then we went to the store and I got a couple boxes of jalapeno poppers for my student coworker who I call The Probie (he's our newest hire). I also got him a box of Pepperidge Farms cookies--it's his birthday today and I realize these foodstuffs are a weird gift, but I knew he'd like them. He and his wife make jalapeno poppers every Friday night and I like how much he looks forward to that. "It's jalapeno popper night!", he says on Fridays, gleefully. This pleases me and makes me remember when Francisco and I were young and newly married and poor--we were all about enjoying the small things in life because they were all we had at the time. We played a lot of board and card games, let me tell you. It was practically our only entertainment, aside from all that sex we were having.

It's a full moon tonight--watch out for werewolves. Also C.H.U.D.S., but of course that's every night.

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify