on the road to shut-insville

2005-09-09

Last night we watched the USA/Guatemala World Cup qualifying match we recorded on Wednesday night, and I was pleased to see Marco Rodriguez refereeing. He is (so far) our second favorite ref., and I'd have to say we like him mainly because he looks like Dracula, but he's also a good ref. AND, just between you and me, he has a really hot body, but I couldn't find any pictures that showcase his fantastic vampiric ass, so you'll just have to take my word on that. I came across a profile of him today, and he lists his hobbies as swimming, bike riding, and reading the Bible--I wonder if touching the Bible burns him and he hisses all evil-like through his fangy teeth. I am choosing to believe it is so. Our favorite favorite favorite [�Twyla] referee is a guy who refs in the Liga Mexicana. I have tried to find out who he is, but so far have had no luck--my continuing incompetence with the Spanish language makes it difficult to find anything out about the Liga Mexicana, but I'm working on it. He's our favorite x 3 because he seems very gentle, and we once saw him stop everything to make two angry players (who had clashed in some way I can't remember now) apologize to each other and make up, although sadly, they did not kiss. I love that he wants everyone to get along; it's nice.

The last two days at work have been horrendous. I wrote about my Wednesday at work previously, and yesterday was no better. Today has actually been okay, though I'm still extremely overwhelmed by everything I need to get done, but I thought it would be worse this morning, because one of the first things I did was trip on the stairs and spill a bunch of the water I had just gotten for myself. I said, out loud, "So that's the way it's going to be, Universe? Again? Bring it ON, jerk." My coworkers were like, 'What? Oh, it's you; nevermind'. They're used to me talking to the Universe by now; this is a good thing.

My sister, who has not updated her diary in approximately forever, had lunch today with Slummy, and she had a fun fun time, which is not surprising in the slightest, as Slummy is one of the most fun people in the history of ever. I'm so glad they had a good time! When I talked to my sis (she called me) she told me she'd talked to our brother a couple of days ago and that the Red Cross (with whom he has been volunteering) is sending him to New Orleans for three weeks to help out down there. This is one of the best pieces of news I've had about my brother in a long, long time. I think it's great he'll be 'giving back' a little, especially where so much help is needed, and I think it could be so good for him, too. He is extremely self-absorbed (I say this as a statement of fact and with no malicious intent), so it could be really great for him to see what Other people are dealing with, you know? I'm VERY HAPPY about this.

The Song of the Day [remember this feature?] is Clue to Kalo's, "Your Palsy to Protect You", at Moebius Rex. Go git it, honey.

Tomorrow Francisco and Sharky are going to a 'cowboy action' shoot which will probably take all day, and instead of accompanying them and dressing up like an Old West whore (which Francisco excitedly told me I could do if I wanted), I am going to stay home and revel in having the house to myself. I started a list of things to do which includes two things from last weekend's list that I didn't get to, and I think it'll be a fabulous day. I'm going to make dinner (split pea soup, cornbread, and salad--Francisco's requested dinner) and work on my list and air out the house, because the weather is finally starting to cool down a little. This morning when we went to the track [we've upped our running to walking ratio and it's working out great] I was actually cold before we started moving. Cold! Can you believe it, because I can't.

Francisco just called me to say our cable box thingy was installed this morning, and after many Tivo setup trials and tribulations, the Tivo show listings are finally showing up correctly. He specifically wanted to let me know that the soccer wishlist I made is listing 190 games right now. 190! So as you can probably guess, this is goodbye--you will NEVER HEAR FROM ME AGAIN. It's been fun, interweb, but a girl's gotta have priorities.

Farewell...

Love,
E

PS Oh I'm kidding, of course. You'll never get rid of me, interweb, NEVER. We're stuck with each other until death parts us. And just so you know, interweb, this is not a challenge; please do not send your henchmen after me--I promise I'll be on my best behavior except when you're not looking.

PPS My pen pal friend, Jeff Senior [�Max] photoshopped a ridiculous picture from some of the photos I'd put out on Flickr, and I think it's funny. That is all. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify