the bride wore Limited Too

2002-05-14

Here is a little story for you that is 100% true and will probably horrify you. I went to a small high school where everyone pretty much knew everyone else, and when I was a senior, a junior and a freshman got married. That in itself is horrifying enough, but she was not pregnant, which is probably what anyone hearing that would think. No, they got married because they wanted to, and their parents allowed them to get married. I'm not sure what state allowed their nuptials, because I think even Nevada requires you to be 16 with parental consent, but some state did. The reason their parents gave consent? They were afraid the kids would have sex. Let that sink in for just a minute. I mean, sure, parents don't Want their high school children to be having sex, but what exactly did they think marriage would accomplish for the kids, anyway? I guess it was to keep them from "sinning", but of course--OF COURSE!--the marriage was over in about a year, and what they had to show for their high school careers were diplomas and divorce papers. Can you imagine being a freshman in college and having to tell people (or conceal from them) that you'd gotten married and divorced while still in high school? That is just InSane.

I don't have a lot to write about today. I spent much of the day trying to stifle the primal scream rising in my throat; in other words, it was a frustrating day. But hey, one good thing, I found a really cool orange item on eBay and it will be perfect for my bedroom. I will not say what it is for fear that others would bid on it and snatch it away. If I win it, Then I'll say.

The main thing I managed to do today at work is organize my stuff so that tomorrow I can come in and start kicking ass. I think it's enough, and now I'm going home to knit some more on that crazy scarf. It's getting quite long.

I'm listening to my favorite radio station and just now a song came on featuring the refrain, "someone stole a kishka from the butcher shop". I think this might be what is called Klezmer music, but I can't be sure. Earlier I heard Spinal Tap's Stonehenge, and it made me smirk in delight.

In case you were wondering, apparently someone found the kishka--"Yasha brought it back".

Catie spoke in her earlier entry about wanting the donut, and can I just say, I know exactly what she's talking about. Except for me it would be the carrot cake.

Must go home now. Over.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify