Special Bonus Entry

2001-03-07

Here is a special bonus entry for the day. The following is a series of emails I sent to an Amazon.com auctioneer, after I had purchased a concert poster from him but had not received it in the mail when I was supposed to. Once I realized I could get a refund from Amazon, I really started to enjoy the emails. In fact, I would say this is one of my more satisfying online auction purchases, just because I liked crafting the harrassing emails. Hope you enjoy, but if not, please don't hold it against me. Remember, I'm boring today and I'm trying to make it up to you, the reader.

----------------------------------------

Hi Charlie,

I still haven't received the Stevie Ray poster, and it's been a couple of weeks. Can you tell me when it was shipped and if I can trace it at all? I would appreciate any info you can give.

Eva W.

----------------------------------------

Hello? Charlie? Anyone? [echoing sound]

I emailed you a couple days ago, asking for information about the Stevie Ray Vaughn poster I purchased through Amazon Auctions over 2 weeks ago and still have not received, though I was supposed to get it in 5-7 days. Can anyone respond to me or will I be forced to get mad and turn into the Incredible Hulk? Please respond--I can't afford to replace any more shirts due to the ripping. I'm not trying to be a nudge, I just want my poster.

Thanks,

Eva W.

----------------------------------------

I have recently emailed you twice, regarding the concert poster I have yet to receive, and you have not responded. I will be trying to call you tonight to find out when I will be receiving the poster, since it has been almost 3 weeks and the supposed mailing time was only 5 to 7 days. In the meantime I will be submitting viciously negative feedback about you to Amazon, and if I do not hear from you and am unable to contact you at your listed phone number, I will be filing charges of fraud with Amazon. I realize it is only a $27 item, but when I pay for something I expect to get it. Where is my poster?!!!!!

Eva W.

----------------------------------------

It's been 3 weeks today. Are you going to respond to me Ever, or do you plan to just rip me off without comment? Since I paid with my credit card, I can get the money refunded to me by Amazon, and I will do that once the required 30 days has elapsed, unless you send me my poster. I have looked more at the feedback you've gotten, and I can see that most of the time you have been classified as a great seller, but there have been other buyers who say they didn't get their merchandise, or that it arrived completely ruined. Why is that?

In all seriousness, do you have bi-polar disorder? Is it that you're running out of your lithium at times and are not refilling the prescription? Are you too depressed to respond or to send me my damn poster? For godssake, just email me back--it'll take you 2 minutes!! If it's a mental illness thing then maybe I can forgive you, but not if I don't get my damn poster. You'll be hearing from me again, and if you need the lithium then please go get it refilled--start living your life again.

Eva W.

----------------------------------------

Good morning. Here is your daily harassing email. WHERE IS MY POSTER?!

It occurred to me that maybe you are laying in a coma somewhere, and if that is the case then I'm sorry, but you should have mailed my damn poster before commencing your coma. Or maybe you're on vacation, but then why the hell would you have gone off on vacation without first mailing my poster? Very irresponsible I must say. Seriously, are you ever going to answer me? The whole reason I bid on that poster in the first place was because--and perhaps this is a confusing concept for you--I Wanted it. I wanted to hang it in my house, probably in the bedroom because the yellow of the poster would have gone nicely with the "madder blue" of the walls. I did not bid on the poster because I wanted the thrill of the auction or because I have so much money I didn't know what to do with it and thought I would donate oh, say, $27 to some deserving Amazon auctioneer. I think you're missing the main general point of your role as auctioneer/seller. You seem to know how to accept people's money, but you're not following through with the all-important step of mailing the purchased item to the customer.

You need to appreciate that it is not easy for me to write these emails to you. First of all, I was brought up to be a nice, polite girl and to keep my complaining to myself. By and large that notion did not take, but it still gives me a twinge every now and then. Second, and more importantly, I find it extremely hard to refrain from using very bad language in these emails. I tend at most times to swear like a grizzled sailor, so I am really holding back. The reason I am doing so is I don't think bad language will advance our pseudo seller/buyer relationship, but it's really cramping my personality. I have begun to toy with the idea of suing you for pain and suffering, not to mention my damn poster.

Speaking of my poster, where is it?!

Until tomorrow, unless you reply to me today,

Eva W.

----------------------------------------

Hey,

Got the poster today and it looks great. Thanks, it was nice doing business with you!

Eva |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify