Johnny Fairplay, you had me at "My grandma's dead"

2004-05-14

I read a NYTimes article today about the president's approval rating being at its lowest point ever, and I was thinking about how I've heard people say that we Must support the president, because to not support him weakens the country. And I have to say, I think being able to disagree with the president is part of what makes the country strong. I would hate to live in a place where people were afraid to voice disagreement with what their president is doing, and I'm very glad we have free elections, because though the results are not always what I'd like them to be, at least I get a chance to choose. Also, I wish the pollsters would call my house, because I would dearly Love to give my opinion on what's going on in the country right now and have my opinion reflected in some kind of statistical analysis. They Never call me and that makes me sad. Maybe someday my luck will change.

So, I haven't been talking Survivor recently, but I watched last night's bonus million dollar giveaway thing and I have two main things to say (have vented other things elsewhere): 1) I didn't like that the 4 finalists were all men, especially because I wanted Kathy to win it and 2) I don't think it's possible for me to love Johnny Fairplay more than I do at this moment. There's a part of me that really admires people who have the chutzpah to say and do outrageous things, and it is this part of me that embraces Johnny Fairplay. I think the thing I admire most about the outrageous people is that they don't end up regretting the things they say or do, or if they Do regret them, they don't agonize over it. I'm certain if I did or said even half the things I'd like to do/say, they would all become part of my Midnight Slideshow of Horrors, and it's not worth it. That slideshow is already far too long and painful.

I don't have anything else to say today--sorry. This weekend I need to work on some files, and we're going to see Troy, and those are our only plans.

I wish my brain were working right now. It's just....not. Hopefully that's nothing a weekend won't cure. Have a good one!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify