beer, mall, briefcase, Tetris

2002-02-18

I've been going around all day today inwardly and secretly mourning the fact that I am not still in bed. It was Very Hard to get up today, but get up I did, and my regret is palpable. Francisco and I went to the gym this morning and I exerted myself mightily (upper body workout today). When I had just finished my last thing and was putting the weights away, I saw a woman coming toward the weight area carrying a piece of paper. Could it be? It was! When she put the paper down to pick up some weights, I saw that it was a Body For Life upper body form, just like the one I had. I nearly spoke to her, thinking I could brandish my own piece of paper in solidarity, but she looked like she wanted to be left alone. Which is fine, because generally I like to be left alone at the gym too. But it was weird seeing that another gym person is doing BFL--it feels like a cult now or something.

My weekend can be summed up by saying beer, mall, briefcase, Tetris. Beer: Saturday we bought the supplies for two batches of beer and Francisco started one last night. It is bubbling away, and our house smells beery. Also, I drank two beers yesterday and they were good. Mall: while we were doing errands on Saturday, we went to the best mall in our area, and it was a hell of difficult parking. The stores are good but in all other respects, I hate that mall. Briefcase: it turned out the luggage store would also have to order handles, so we brought the briefcase back and Francisco will take it to the local repair store and have them order the handles and fix it. Tetris: I played this game all damn weekend. Yesterday I played it in conjunction with drinking the aforementioned 2 beers, and it was even more fun. I am seeing the floating shapes again--the Tetris addiction is back in full force.

Did you know, by law any household can brew up to 200 gallons of beer per year for home consumption? I guess if you make more beer than that, you need to have some kind of permit. That's a lot of beer. One batch is 5 gallons and usually makes 2 cases plus 1 or 2 bottles extra. There are 24 bottles per case, so say 50 bottles of beer per 5-gallon batch. There are 40 batches in 200 gallons (look at my math skills!), so 40 x 50 bottles = 2,000 bottles. You can make approximately 2,000 bottles of beer per year per household, otherwise known as Almost enough for the Bush family. People, can you believe I am not a math major? What? You can? Bitch.

Also, I assume you've seen that horrible story about the corpses in Georgia? The reason the owner of the crematorium gave for dumping all those bodies? The crematorium is broken. Well damn, buddy, why don't you get it fixed, or here's an idea, stop accepting bodies. The whole thing really upsets me, and I'm not sure why. Possibly because it's important to people to feel that their loved ones who died have been properly treated, and dumping them in the woods, just for the record, isn't proper treatment. I suspect part of what upsets me about this is because of my great-aunt, Ruby. Did I tell you this? Before Ruby died (several years before, actually) she signed her body over to a medical school, to be used for research. I asked her what would happen to her body, and she said when they were finished with their research, they would cremate it and dispose of the ashes in a respectful way. I asked if I could have her ashes; could the school send them to me? She said they probably could, but there was no point. She waved her hand dismissively and said to let the medical school take care of it. This has bothered me since she died, because I don't know where she is. I know it's probably stupid to worry about it, but still I'd like to know how her ashes were "disposed of". It nags at me.

I ate chocolate yesterday, and it was delicious. I had intended to go to the expensive grocery store so as to get a bar of imported chocolate for myself (when I can have chocolate only one day per week, I want it to be really good chocolate). The expensive grocery store was farther away than I wanted to travel, so I settled for Dove dark chocolate, and you know, it was good enough. I like chocolate that melts smooth in my mouth, and Dove fills that bill. Chocolate and dark beer and Tetris--was there ever a better Sunday afternoon/evening?

Today and Wednesday are the days I leave at 4:00 from work, and Wednesday I'm taking Boy to the movies. We'll see a twilight showing of The Count of Monte Cristo. Boy has been nagging us about the movie, nagging and nagging. I want to see it but Francisco doesn't, and I would be content to wait until it was rentable, but Boy wants to see it so badly that I decided to take him to it. Should be fun. Today when I go home I'm going to clean my bathroom. It's so nice in there now, with the shiny new white tile, it has a spa-like feel. It even has an attendant, if you count Esther. She likes to sit either on the bathmat or on the closed toilet.

One other cat-related thing: Yesterday I changed the sheets on our bed, and I sprayed lavender water on the pillows. Since that time, Lucy has been laying on my side of the bed, with her head on my pillow and one foreleg under the pillow, like a little furry me. Practically every time I go into the bedroom, there she is: my tiny hairy doppelganger. How I envy her.

Work is quiet today--I think people are assuming our office is closed for the holiday. This is a good thing. I only have 35 minutes to go, so I will post this entry and do a few worky things, and then I'm outta here. Be good to yourselves and I'll talk to you tomorrow.

Love!

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify