who knows what brilliance has eluded me?

2002-02-19

I just drank a cup of herbal licorice tea. I feel so pure.

It's been quite a day. One of my coworkers capped it off a few minutes ago (while I was drinking the tea) by saying that, in the song 'Devil Went Down to Georgia', she really feels the devil played better and should have won. If you don't know what I'm talking about, you are undoubtedly much younger than I am and are therefore considered a fetus. I downloaded the song after she made her proclamation, and I listened to it, and she's right; the devil totally kicked Johnny's ass. Why did he declare Johnny the winner? It is one of the great mysteries of our times.

I've never enjoyed sneezing, and have been suppressing my sneezes since childhood. Recently I read that sneeze suppression can weaken the blood vessels in your brain and give you a stroke, so I've decided I need to stop the suppression. Probably the damage has already been done, but I would really prefer not to have a stroke, so I'm just going to have to sneeze, even though it is gross. Today I learned that sneezing when you've just eaten a carrot is inadvisable. I'm learning as I go.

The boyfriend I had before I met Francisco (lo those many years ago) looked like the guy on H.R. Puffinstuff--the one who wasn't a puppet. He did not own a talking flute, but the resemblance was, in all other respects, uncanny. Last I heard he was living in the basement of a bar in Portland, OR, trying to make a living as a musician. I'm so glad we broke up.

Today one of my coworkers told me she could tell I've lost weight. That was gratifying, because I knew I had, but I didn't know other people could tell. I'm up to 7 pounds lost now, and I'm considerably stronger. Yay Body for Life!

I'm listening to Cake's 'Short Skirt, Long Jacket' right now, and I love that song. I always have to listen to it twice; once doesn't cut it. The lyrics are Great and it always makes me chair dance. Highly recommended.

Last night I didn't clean the bathroom, and in fact I didn't do much of anything. Want to know what took up most of my time? It was that damn stinking Tetris. I've got to quit; I don't know why I find it so compelling in the first place. Stupid colored shapes.

I downloaded some Tannahill Weavers today, and I love them. I don't know why, but Celtic music really speaks to me. I listened to the Thistle and Shamrock (NPR) on Sunday night, and I told Francisco how much I love Celtic music and how I feel it is the music of my people. I was a little drunk at the time, but I was sincere. The problem is, I'm only a little bit Irish and Scottish, and am mostly English and German--I'm a mutt, I have no People. But I feel like the Celtic music is mine, so maybe I was Irish or Scottish in another life. Are you buying that? I don't know if I am, but I'll roll with it for now.

Those digital recorders that you can talk into; are they expensive? I think I need one. I frequently wake up in the night and realize I have dreamt an interesting idea for a story, but I'm too groggy to write anything down. And even if I wasn't too groggy, my sleep is like a soap bubble. It is very delicate and must be protected from popping (no metaphor is perfect), and if I were to wake up enough to actually write something down, it would take me forever to get back to sleep. But I could probably grope for the recording device and speak into it without waking up too much, and no doubt this would make for some hilarious morning play-back. Ideas that seem really good at 2 a.m. are probably more iffy than they appear at the time. I am convinced, though, that some excellent ideas are getting away, so I will check into the whole digital recorder thing and maybe they're not too costly and I can get one. I would take that mofo everywhere (you never know when an idea will strike), to the awe and mystification of hundreds. People who saw me talking into it would naturally assume that I am an Important and Creative Person, and I would not bother to correct them.

Here is an example of an idea I had at one point, and this one got written down. This is not a story idea, but just an idea for something I think would be funny to do. I would like to start a scholarship organization (this assumes that one day I will have more money than I do now) so that I could give away a few scholarships entitled "The Stinkybutt Scholarship". I think these scholarships would cause a classic dilemma for the scholarship winners. On the one hand, they would want the money, but on the other hand, the acceptance of the scholarship would imply, if not declare, that their butts are stinky. I would want them to attend an award lunch (The Stinkybutt Luncheon), and I would present them with certificates (This Certificate Has Been Awarded to [insert name here] from the Stinkybutt Foundation). You cannot tell me this is not a good idea, worthy of digital recording.

I go home now.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify