nesting for some reason

2002-03-04

Damn. I always feel like death on Monday morning, and today is no exception. I woke up at 2:30 and had trouble getting back to sleep, due primarily to a compulsion to plot what I would do if someone broke into the house during the night. [By the way, I am currently mentally ill--the pms is killing me this month.] The likelihood of a break-in is slim, and the likelihood of someone breaking in without me hearing it is even slimmer--I am a light sleeper, with bat-like hearing. But what I would do if I woke up to the sound of someone breaking in? Ah, now that was the dilemma on the table in the wee hours of the morning. The first thing I would have to do is put on my glasses, because I am blind without them. I would then have to ascertain the door or window through which the intruder gained entry, and go from there. My main concern would be to get up to Boy's room and protect him, but the phone is downstairs, and therein lies the conundrum. I really hope I never have to actually deal with this situation, and I think the only reason I obsessed on it this morning was because Francisco will be gone this weekend; Friday morning until Sunday evening. He's going to the regional version of the national conference he attended in November, and he's presenting a paper. I am very proud of him! I will also miss him like crazy.

So, the middle finger on my right hand is kind of eggplant-colored today, on the palm side. This is because Francisco asked me if I could touch the rim of the basketball hoop in our cul-de-sac yesterday, and I said I could (it is set at child-height). I ran at it and jumped and touched the rim, but on the way down I caught my finger in the net, and the contusion commenced. It doesn't really hurt today, unless I apply pressure, but it sure is purty.

Can anyone tell me if, when out shopping, you've seen orange glass drawer pulls? I am looking for something I will probably never find: smooth, round, bright orange glass, and sort of largish, as they are for our dresser, and it is sizeable. Has anyone seen anything like this? Because I picture these in my head as being the perfect drawer pulls, but my interweb searching has produced nothing even similar. I guess I'll have to shop around locally sometime soon. If I can find plastic drawer pulls that are orange and etc, then I will settle for those, and actually since I need 20 of them, plastic is probably what I'll have to go with anyway. I imagine glass ones would be pretty pricey.

Orange is the winner in the "what color to decorate the bedroom with" contest. We're not going to repaint--the walls are "madder blue"--but we need new curtains, duvet, etc, and that's where the orange comes in. I thought orange pulls on the pine dresser would be nice as well, hence the search.

Oh, as long as I'm asking stupid questions, can anyone recommend a shrub for me? I need a shrub that is short-ish and very shade-tolerant, and that has thorns or is otherwise scratchy. I want to plant this shrub (or multiples thereof) at the back of my yard, to prevent children from cutting through. The scratchier the better. I searched my gardening book yesterday for something like this, but didn't find anything. I think blackberry bushes would be great, but they don't like shade, so they won't work.

I'm all into gardening the past few days. I'm going to be starting the backyard project very soon, and this will entail shoring up the terraced slope, installing (nailing up) trellis stuff onto the deck, and planting new perennials (including honeysuckle, which is what the trellis is for). I'm very excited about this project, and am going to try and do most of it myself. If you like gardening and would like to suggest plants (keeping in mind that it is a mostly sunny and hot slope, and that drought-tolerant plants would be best), I would love to get any and all suggestions.

So, this weekend: Friday night we had dinner and watched Castaway, and it was nice; very cozy and happy. Saturday it was raining very hard, so I only went out once, to run a couple errands. The rest of the time was spent doing laundry and all that chore crap, and watching some of the Clint Eastwood marathon on TBS (I think that was the channel). I think we probably watched 4 of his movies during the course of the weekend, and because it is not our usual weekend thing, it was fun. I also caught up on RW Chicago yesterday, much to Francisco's horror, and he and I watched Dune last night. It was quite a sedentary time, but it was a good rainy weekend thing.

I went to the library yesterday and got lots of books. I'm going to need them because Boy just joined a youth track team and I'll be taking him to practices twice a week--Monday and Wednesday. Tonight is the first practice. There might be some worthy shopping in the area, but if not I'll have some good stuff to read while he exerts himself.

Yesterday morning I had not only baked cookies by 10 am, but had already consumed a couple. What do you think of that? Yeah, well it was my free day and I'd been craving chocolate, so I made some chocolate jumbles, first thing in the morning. They turned out tasty and are a great source of oatmeal, but dude. I have got to stop eating so much sugar on my free days, esPEcially when I am already so fraught with pms. Chocolate does Not help that condition. I am 34--why can't I start Learning already?

Can't think of anything else to report right now, but I hope you had a great weekend, and Happy Monday!

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify