mmm...pointy

2002-03-05

Last night I had another choking dream, except in this one I wasn't really choking, per se; I was just trying to keep from swallowing a synthroid, because in my dream I had already had my daily one. And in the dream the synthroid was the size of an altoid, which, you know, it isn't in real life. I woke poor Francisco up with my cry of "oh my god!", because when I have these weird "choking or swallowing something inappropriate" dreams, it takes me forever to really wake up and realize it was all just a dream, and usually I have already cried out and woken him up by the time I wake up. That poor man.

I've been very crabby today, especially this morning. I was listening to NPR on the way in, and news has a crabbyfying effect on me when I am already disposed that way. It's always who's shooting who and how many killed and what the rotten Bush administration is doing now, yadda yadda. I slept better last night and that's a good thing, but I still don't feel all that great. Francisco has been feeling ill--he's had a low fever for the past couple of days-and he needs to feel better right quick, since he's going to his conference this weekend.

Truth be told, I very nearly called in sick to work this morning, even though I'm not really. I'm glad I didn't because I got a lot done today, and were I home I would've just wasted time reading and watching television and maybe doing a little shopping. It would've been pleasant, but tomorrow would be much harder.

So I took Boy to his first track practice, and holy crap, those poor children! It was really cold yesterday, and there was a frigid wind blowing, making it probably in the 10's or 20's with wind chill. Some of the younger children started crying from cold and had to be taken home. I huddled in the truck, reading, until the practice was over and then I spirited the Boy home for a warm dinner. There is zero good shopping near the school where they practice, and even if there were, I don't think I would feel comfortable leaving him there. The whole thing is just too chaotic--lots of people arriving or leaving; too much going on for me to feel that he's safe there without me. I probably worry too much, but at any rate, when it warms up a little, it'll be pleasant to sit in the bleachers, reading, during the practice.

The Boy really impressed me, once again, yesterday with his social bravery. He just waded right on in with the other kids, and as I said, there were a lot of them. If it were me I would've begged my mom to take me home, because I was always so shy around big crowds. I think Boy really might be able to get through junior high without too much trauma; he seems the type. My fingers are crossed.

Oh, a thing he did last week at the middle school meeting (I forgot to mention this): He kept nagging to be allowed to go out and play basketball with his friend Tony during the meeting, and we finally consented. He said, "Yes!", and took off down the hall, running and skipping and doing little gleeful pirouettes, and just keep in mind, there were lots of people there. I laughed for awhile and then turned to Francisco and said, "He's going to grow out of That pretty soon." And it made me a little sad to think that he will probably start getting that self-conscious thing, any minute now, but I guess it's just part of growing up.

I am very boring today; don't think I don't know it. The Crabbyness is sucking my creativity, and work is getting very busy, and I feel bad because I am neglecting good friends (need to email them but there's no time), and I'm hungry and my skin isn't very good right now, and I'm having a hard time counting my blessings. But I think I will anyway. I think I'll go to bed a few minutes early so that I'll have time to remember all my blessings and savor them a little before I fall asleep and dream I'm swallowing the Statue of Liberty.

Tomorrow is another day; fiddle dee dee,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify