...cause you are the magnet--I am steel!

2002-01-30

I got to work RIGHT ON TIME this morning, thanks to my neighbor needing a ride to a rental car place, and needing to be there before 8 am. It's a good thing because now I get to go home at the normal going home time, instead of staying late to make up for coming in late. It'll be nice to get home when it's still light.

This morning when I woke up (at 5 in the am I want you to know), I had a ridiculous song playing in my head, and I don't know how it got in there. It is this song, and it's been with me all day. I can think of Better songs to have in my head, let me tell you.

When I was at the gym this morning, the testosteronies were really active; I would even say they were swarming. I had to really work around them because they kept congregating around the weights/equipment I needed and just kind of taking turns lifting and encouraging each other. Once they were right next to me (I believe I was doing the incline bench press), loudly and mannishly exhorting the lifter (regular bench press) to do such things as "give it everything you've got" and "get angry!", and I closed my eyes and pretended they were talking to me. Much as it pains me to admit this, it helped. I did indeed give it all I had, but I didn't get angry. Why get angry? They're just free weights. Silly men. I had hoped that the number of people at the gym in the mornings would begin to decline as the New Year's resolutions wore off and people decided they wanted to sleep in, but it doesn't seem to be happening. I think the number of people at the gym strictly for the aerobics machines has declined, but the testosteronies are gaining members at an alarming rate. Now that I go to the gym mainly for the weights, this is a problem for me. Eh, I'll work with it.

Today my boy coworker was downloading songs from Morpheus when I happened by his office, and I casually mentioned that I have a cd burner on my computer (my computer is newer than his). I should tell you that I've never used the cd burner, because well, I'm technologically hesitant. I'm not Afraid of computers, and I always Want to try new things, but I feel a sort of reluctance that can only be overcome by a powerful and irresistible force. Such as a coworker who really Really wants to burn a cd with the songs he just downloaded. We figured out how to use the burner and it was totally easy, and he showed me how to use Morpheus, and people. It is going to be CD Party Gigante at work from now on, or at least until our busy season gets going. I've got a Number of things I'm going to download and put onto cds, and I'm so loving the technology. Woo-hoo!

Other things to report: I painted my toenails last night for the first time in forever (or more specifically, months and months), and they make me happy. They are bright red and lovely and I can't wait to get home and take off my shoes. Also, I backslid on my "no more diet soda" regime today and had a Diet Mountain Dew. I figure one diet soda every couple of months won't do any harm, and man did I have a caffeine buzz! It was beautiful. Tonight Francisco has a reading group thing (academic reading group, which = not fun), to go to and he will not be home for West Wing. I promised to record it for him, but I'm going to watch it also, because hello? West Wing!

You know something I really like to say? When Francisco and/or Boy ask me to put a lot of things in my purse, or hold things for them, I like to hold out my hand (palm up), and say, "Spit your gum into my hand." Because having to put things into my purse for other people makes me feel like a total Mom. I have had to buy a bigger purse, because the old, small, cute one could not handle the extra load. I showed my new big purse to Kimberly on Sunday, and she said, "How maternal". I would've kicked her ass except that she's right.

That's all I've got today, between this entry and the earlier one, so I'm signing off now. Love to all,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify