is that....Quiet Riot?

2002-01-31

I'm feeling dull today, so I won't burden the interweb with a long update. This afternoon I may have wrecked our boy coworker's keyboard, in which case I will have to buy a new one. I was helping him locate The Girl From Ipanema on Morpheus, and I accidentally tipped over the water glass I had set on his desk. There wasn't a Lot of water in there, but some ran into his keyboard and now a few of the keys aren't working. I am hopeful that it might dry out adequately during the night and be working fine in the morning, but I don't know what the odds are. I don't know what keyboards cost, but I can tell you for sure it's more than I want to spend. Especially for such a stupid reason.

Last night I talked to my Southern CA friend, Isabel (it was our January phone date), and it was really fun. Francisco ended up getting home at about 8:55, so we were able to watch West Wing together instead of me recording it for later. I love to watch West Wing with Francisco, because we both love it so much, and it's more enjoyable to watch with someone who loves the show as much as I do. Also last night I tried out the aromatic oil warmer my mom had sent me recently. I bought some "Relaxing" oil at the local natural foods store and used that, and that warmer thing works really well. The oil was mainly lavender, I think, but it also contained sweet fennel and cedar oils. Needless to say, we'll be firing that thing up all the time.

On my drive home from work yesterday I was listening to a Classic Rock station, and some bad 80s rock song came on. I was in the mood to totally enjoying bad 80s rock, so it made me happy, and then in the middle of my joy at listening to the song, I had a Very Good Idea (btw, I think all my ideas are very good). The local college radio station offers people from the community the chance to host radio shows if the show idea is good and the person will go through the training the station offers. I was thinking I could pitch the idea of a show called "The Shame of the 80s". For the purpose of having enough material, I would operate under the assumption that 90% of all 80s music is shameful, even if it wasn't at the time. So I would play 80s music, and I was also thinking that I could play snippets of cheesy 80s television shows, or even do dramatic reenactments of cheesy 80s movies. Basically the point of the show would be to revel in the most embarrassing features of the 80s (mainly the musical features), and let's face it, there were many. I know, because that was the decade in which I entered high school and college, so I was aware of these things. Possibly you agree with me about the 80s, but possibly you weren't born then or were just a wee baby; either scenario is a knife in my 34 year-old heart. I checked the radio station's music schedule this morning, and they appear to have their Spring schedule filled up. I think I will try for summer, since some, or most, of the people at the station are students and might be leaving town then. Or more likely, I will lose interest before summer rolls around and just forget the whole thing.

Sorry about that lame link yesterday to the song that was in my head when I woke up. It wasn't a link to the song so much as a link to not the song. I linked in haste and have repented at leisure.

Happy Thursday Night,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify