Yul Brynner was one sexy mofo

2002-01-23

My beloved Boy has all the good taste and sound fashion sense of a pimp. Last night at the LensCrafters, I had to steer him away from a Number of garishly colored frames, because I knew he would end up not liking them later. And the more he likes the glasses, the more he will wear them, and he needs to wear them. He chose, and I approved, some frames that are a very good shape for his face, but are sort of a shiny reddish brown, thus satisfying his inner fashion pimp. He and Francisco will pick the glasses up this afternoon, as LensCrafters did not offer the one-hour service last night, for some reason.

Yesterday I brought cottage cheese as part of one of my tiny meals, and when I packed it I forgot to put black pepper on it, as is my custom. I went into the office kitchen and found some little pepper packets that someone had previously gotten from Arby's. I hate Arby's, but let's not go into that now. As I ripped the pepper packet open, I thought about how people used to sail all the way to India to get pepper. They risked their lives for pepper, a spice formerly more precious than gold, and now it's available at any fast food place in individually wrapped servings. This seems weird to me.

Last weekend we watched The Magnificent Seven, and all I can say is, wow, that movie is so good! If you haven't seen it, you should run right out and rent it-you will not be sorry. Yul Brynner was really hot, back in the day (specifically, back when he wasn't dead), and he has a real magnetism in the film. 'Magnetism' is a cheesy word, I know, but it's appropriate in this case. Rowwrrr! A must see.

Other things viewed this weekend include Gattica (fairly interesting but not engrossing), Trading Spaces, and Real World Chicago. The Saturday night Trading Spaces was somewhat distressing, I thought. The designers were Frank and Doug, and I thought they both did a pretty good job. I'm not a big fan of Frank's designs, because they tend to be too country/folksy, but that was kept to a minimum on the Saturday show and his room turned out pretty good. The homeowners loved it. I'm sort of a Doug fan, even though he's not my favorite designer, and I liked the room he did. It was sort of modern and minimalist (which I like) but it wasn't stark or cold. Overall I thought it was very nice. The homeowners did not agree. They had these horrified looks on their faces during the 'reveal', and then the woman said, "I need to leave the room now", and she went out but her microphone was still on, and she was Sobbing off-camera, very audibly. I was annoyed because the room wasn't bad, and even if it wasn't her taste, it's just a room, it's not like Doug killed one of her children. I think Trading Spaces will fix the room or give money to fix the room if the homeowners don't like the results, so I didn't think it was that big a deal. And they knew they were taking their chances from the start, so enough with the sobbing already. Real World Chicago seems to have been cast with the goal of making it the most sexual Real World ever. The kids are all beautiful and nubile and one of them walks around naked, much to the titilation of the guy who has sort of a crush on her but is continuously spurned because she is a lesbian. I think I'm going to love RW Chicago. What's not to love? Joleen will second that, I think.

So yeah, Saturday I was pretty lazy, but Sunday night we had a friend coming over for dinner, so I had to actually do some work. My Shame Gland was very active that day and I didn't want our friend to see how filthy our house was. I cleaned it thoroughly and did about 85 loads of laundry, and when I was finished I told Francisco that finally the house was all clean at the same time, rather than being cleaned in bits and pieces. Francisco said, "�and all it took was hours of back breaking labor". Pretty much. But that night I drank two martinis and a beer, so all was right with the world. Plus, we had tamales, with coffee ice cream for dessert. I like my clean house; it gives me the illusion of control.

Before I started Body for Life, it seemed so simple, so straightforward, that I wondered why anyone would not finish the 12-week challenge. Well, I know now. I'm not going to quit, I swear I'm not, but I can understand why people would want to. On paper it seems pretty easy to do the weightlifting and the aerobic exercise, and on paper it seems easy to eat the 6 tiny meals, but in real life it's not so easy. In real life, when muscles are sore and you're very tired and very hungry, quitting starts to seem like not such a bad thing. And people, this is only my 3rd day! But I think my body will adjust pretty soon and I'll stop feeling so tired and so hungry, and it will be a little easier. Francisco says that my muscles won't be as sore after awhile, even when I'm lifting more weight, so I have that to look forward to as well. And on Sunday, the free day, I'm going to have lunch with my friend, Kimberly, and I plan to eat something good. I have a list I started, of the things I've craved so far this week, and on it are three things: 1. A Coke 2. Moose Tracks ice cream 3. Bacon. I'm going to try and work these things into my free day, but I don't want to be piggish because I don't want to get off track.

Tonight I'm going to watch West Wing, even though I need to get up at 5:00 tomorrow morning, because I love that show and getting an hour less sleep is worth it. Last night I was in bed at 9:00, but I didn't sleep soundly and in fact was woken up twice by poor Esther having asthma attacks. The first was at 10:45 and I got up and gave her a pill. The second was exactly 4 hours later (timed, perhaps?), and I didn't give her a pill because it hadn't been long enough since the last one. Poor thing. Something set her off this weekend and she's been coughing ever since. It's been raining, and I think that's the common denominator. Maybe the rain is causing an increase of mold spores in the air, or something. The frequency of her attacks is worrisome, but this has happened before so I will just take good care of her and try not to worry. Oh! I wanted to mention that I'm trying to teach Esther to meow "mama", and it's really not working at all. Sometimes, out of sheer coincidence, I'm sure, she meows in a "meow-meow" way that sounds like "mama", and I praise her lavishly. She is probably very confused when that happens, since she did not purposely meow like that and can't understand what she is doing to get the lovins. Just so you know, I am doing the whole "mama" thing mainly to watch Francisco roll his eyes. It amuses me.

That's about it for today.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify