I've got your Rubenesque right here

2001-06-13

I love sidewaysrain, I really do. That combover thing is some amusing shit, even though it makes her kind of sad. I hope she didn't see the twins from this morning, because they would really lend fuel to the sadness fire.

So our work email was upgraded this week, and it's the same program only newer. I hate it. Nothing looks the same, and the "improvements" they've made really aren't. Stupid LotusNotes 5.0.7. It makes me not want to use my email; it just seems like such a hassle to send messages now. Gripe gripe gripe. If this is the worst thing that happens this week, I'll be sitting in the catbird's seat. BTW, this is the first time I've used that catbird phrase, but it was in Raising Arizona and I've always thought it was funny.

Yesterday the strange computer guy, Scott, told me I am "delightfully Rubenesque". I did not deck him, but instead have resolved to renew and redouble my efforts at losing weight. It's not that being Rubenesque is a bad thing, but I prefer my body when it is smaller--I am more comfortable at a smaller size and clothes look so much better. Silly Scott; he thought he was being complimentary. This is why he works with computers. I will keep you updated on my progress, because who else am I going to tell?

The charming and wonderful catiecake is redesigning my diary again. She says that it takes a long time to load, hence the redesign. I wasn't aware of the long loading time, because I am blessed to have ethernet access at work, so not many things take a long time to load. I am excited to see what catie will come up with; she is very creative and talented. Yay!!

Can I tell you my very best childhood memory? It was the summer some family friends came to visit us in Oregon (we had moved from California the previous fall). They stayed a week, I believe; they had a camper they parked in our yard and hooked up to our water and electric. Anyway, there were a couple kids in the family, and the best memory is that the house we were living in had a big field to one side, and the grass that was in the field was very tall. It was up to our chests, so what we children did was flatten some of it down to create several "rooms", and we said it was our house. We played out there the whole time they visited, and shortly after they left my parents had the grass cut. They were getting a cow and didn't want the poor thing wading around out there. The grass was never that long again, because one cow led to another, and those cows led to goats, and basically the grass was eaten into shortitude from then on. That may seem a pretty silly memory to have as my favorite from childhood, but I have always been strange in that my good memories become tainted by things that happen afterwards. For example, say I had a great memory of something fun I did with a friend when I was a kid, but two years later that friend was really mean to me and refused to be my friend anymore. In my mind the good memory would be tainted by the later bad memory, and so it wouldn't be a good memory anymore. I don't know if other people's brains work like that, but mine sure does. It sucks, actually, because I have a lot of bad memories--mainly stupid or embarrassing things I did--and they wreck my good memories. Silly tattoobelly; what a freak.

You've probably seen this before, but if not, you should totally check it out. Do Not go there if you are offended by irrevant or sacreligious things, because you will pop a blood vessel in your brain and hemorrhage to death. I have given you fair warning, so don't be cranky if you go there and don't like what you see. I know the site has been around for awhile, and I think I've even heard of it, but I had never visited there until today. I love that site, I love it so very much.

I lifted a lot of weights at the gym this morning--here's to muscles of steel! [clinks 32 ounce plastic water cup against computer screen] I wish it wasn't so hot out all the time now, because I would like to vary my gym exercise with brisk walking exercise. That's the south for you; hot and humid and full of bugs that bite you.

Yeah, I'm very much out of material now. Talk to you tomorrow, pudding pops.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify