Dr. Wendy Simpson

2001-06-14

You know the twins from yesterday? They are now the wallpaper on my computer. I have no clue what their real names are but I have decided they should be named [from left to right] Sebastian and Roderigo. They were clearly born holding the short end of the proverbial stick, so they at least deserve nice names. Poor things, I feel quite sorry for them.

You know what word is really funny? Refectory. The school Francisco got his MA from called its cafeteria The Refectory; I don't know how anyone could bring themselves to eat there. It sounds too much like reflux--like anything you ate there would just come right back up. Sorry to be gross, but you can see my point, right?

The cats made their annual pilgrimage to the vet this morning, and boy were they pissed. Francisco took them to the appt. and said they did their usual yowling all the way there and all the way back, plus hissing at the vet I'm sure. She's such a nice woman, I really like her. She is Dr. Wendy Simpson; she owns The Cat Hospital in Durham. She really loves cats and she understands their behavior, so she doesn't take it personally when they hiss and growl. They got the full treatment--all the vaccinations plus a worming, and Francisco bought heartworm and flea prevention medicines and more prednesone for Esther. For a grand total of [drumroll] $270. I really don't mind because it's only once a year, and it makes me happy to be responsible and take good care of them. It is my plan that they will live to be at least 20, and I sure hope it works out.

I think I have a cluster of baby cardinals eating at my feeder lately. They aren't red but they aren't that weird color of the female cardinals either. I think they are males and that their color takes awhile to come in. Very cute, I must say.

I worked a little over two hours at home last night, so once again I don't have much to report. Except can I just say that I love M*A*S*H? I used to watch it when I was a kid and I liked it then, but now that I'm older I just freaking love that show. FX plays it every day, and I saw part of a show last night when doing work. There is just something about it--probably because I watched it when I was a kid--that makes me feel happy and nostalgic.

The Pupipanus (note new, primitive spelling) have converted to nibbling. We've decided we will be happier and healthier (and for me and Francisco, skinnier) if we eat small meals and just eat them more often, so the plan is going forward. The Boy is very pleased because left to his own devices he would eat like that anyway. Today I have so far had an Eggo waffle (with just a smidge of PB), a serving of craisins, and 1/2 cup of baked beans. I have an apple and a string cheese to get through this afternoon, and then the evening nibbling can commence. I am watching the calories of my nibbles, and the nutritional content, and I am waiting for the pounds to roll off. [crosses arms in patient, regal fashion] Rubenesque my ass! Oh wait...yes...Rubenesque (my ass).

Until tomorrow my chewy sweetarts,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify