Feet of loveliness

2001-06-11

Okay, someone found this diary earlier today with a google search for "ugliest feet diaryland". My reaction to that would be, "HEY!" I will have you all know that I do Not have ugly feet. They are admittedly long and skinny, but I think they're pretty decent looking, for feet. I will post a picture of my feet if I ever get a digital camera.

Did I ever tell you I have not vomited in almost 12 years? That's a long time to go without barfing. I have gone through several stomach flus and one bout of food poisoning in the past 12 years, so I don't see that anything could possibly make me throw up again. Maybe this is my super power! I could call myself Stomach Girl, and my motto could be 'Impervious to Things that Would Cause Mere Mortals to Heave Their Guts Out'. Also, I have never thrown up from too much alcohol, and I've never really had a hangover. Once in New Orleans I felt a little iffy the day after drinking part of the city, but it didn't keep me from eating a Lucky Dog with all the toppings. Mmm....Lucky Dog...

So, our trip to DC. It was pretty good; better than I thought it would be, actually. I saw a white squirrel near the Vietnam Memorial, and Francisco and I saw the Gay Pride Parade yesterday. We had left the Boy and F's mom near the American History museum and were walking to get the car and pick them up so that the bitching would be kept to a minimum. Lo and behold, there was the parade, blocking our way, but we didn't mind. It was very fun, and I wish I could've watched more of it, but we had to get back to pick up the children. Who then bitched because it had taken us so long. I just can't win.

White squirrels and parades are not all we saw, though. We went to the Hirshhorn museum, and the Smithsonian Natural History and American History Museums. We saw all the monuments we could, and saw the house in which Lincoln died. I had heard his bloody pillow would be there, but it was a lie, much to the Boy's chagrin. Saturday morning we stood in line for a couple hours to get White House tour tickets, successfully, and I must say the tour certainly was Not worth it. Saw almost none of the White House, and didn't see Dubya so I could hiss at him. If you're going to DC I would advise skipping the WH tour. An amusing thing occurred in line for the tour, though. The Boy was kind of sitting on the ground and he was playing with leaves, and after a minute I realized he was making the leaves fight. For some reason this cracked us all up, and so it's a good memory.

Speaking of cracking up, I thought I was pretty funny on Friday night when we were walking to see some sights. An ambulance went by and I shouted, "Make way! Make way for Vice President Cheney!" I had a very small audience--just F's mom, and she was not amused. She not only voted for Dubya, she actually thinks he's doing a good job. She was making diggy little comments all weekend, and she enjoyed herself with her comments, but we'll see who has the last laugh in 10 years when social security is bankrupt and she's eating dog food.

[Editor's Note: Though it is gratifying to daydream about F's mom forced to eat dog food, I would not actually allow that to happen. So don't email me and tell me what a bad person I am, because frankly I already know.]

Other things enjoyed in DC:

*Driving with Francisco through cool neighborhoods (Georgetown, Arlington) while the Boy slept in the backseat. He was all slumped over to one side and looked as though he'd been chloroformed.

*Squirrels that would run up to me if I kiss-kissed at them. Francisco was very nervous about this, but his nervousness was unfounded. I was not bitten or mauled by any squirrels this weekend. And I fed a wheat thin to a squirrel at a rest area in VA, on the way home.

*Have I mentioned that I love squirrels?

Things that took it out of me this weekend:

*The diggy Dubya comments.

*Incessant walking--my feet and shins are quite achy.

*The Boy's lust of acquisition--he wanted to buy everything he saw (more accurately, he wanted us to buy him everything he saw), and I rain curses onto the head of the person who thought opening a martial arts store 2 blocks from the hotel was a good idea.

*F's mom's passive-aggressiveness.

*The George Washington parkway; once on, there are very few ways to get off.

Enough with the DC.

Hey, dynamiterave wrote several new entries--the nagging paid off! I just really like my friend dynamiterave--he is a great guy--so I urge you to read him.

I had a smoothie for lunch. I was having trouble deciding between a smoothie and chicken teriyaki. The places to get these things are very close together, so on the way to that vicinity, it was like

chicken teriyaki

smoothie

chicken teriyaki

smoothie

chicken teriyaki

smoothie

in my head. I decided I wanted the chicken more, so after I parked I was walking to that place, but a very large woman cut in front of me right at the door, and that made me have one of my characteristic changes of heart. Smoothie it was. And please, I am not knocking large people, but see, I'm overweight myself and seeing someone quite large entering the teriyaki place made me associate it with unhealthiness in my mind. Did I mention I am pmsy and rather mentally ill today? Anyway, the smoothie rocked and I'm glad I chose that option. Raspberry and peach, not that it's any of your business. Punk.

Hahahahaha, only kidding. I need to stop writing now; I have exceeded my lunchhour by quite a bit. Talk to you later, sugar blossoms.

Love,

E

PS OOH! Francisco told me this weekend about how we're getting another $600 back from the IRS for the stupid tax thing they put into effect, and you know what that means. Or maybe you don't. One word: Tattoos. Yee-Haw!! |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify