I feel like I could get snapped with a wet towel

2002-11-02

If someone were holding a contest today to judge the best thing purchased, I think we might win. Boy and I went to the library this afternoon and then stopped by the antique mall shopping center. This is a place where several little antique shops/malls are grouped into one large area. It is called Daniel Boone Village; this is not my fault.

Anyway, we went through several stores and in one store I saw the item: a 7 foot tall grouping of 18 metal lockers (it's one piece); like the lockers in high school locker rooms. They're a weird industrial salmon color, and I didn't like the color so much at first but it has grown on me. Guess how much they were--go on, guess. Wrong. They were $75. $75! Can you believe it?

Boy and I went home and I told Francisco about the lockers. He was interested; we've both always liked metal lockers. We left Boy at home with his video game and took the truck to the store. Francisco gave them the stamp of approval and the work began. Those mofos were heavy and awkward and it was extremely difficult to maneuver them out of the store--there were breakable things all over the place, taunting our efforts. We struggled and triumphed and the lockers are in the living room as I type. The salmon color actually looks great in there; it goes with the walls and all the furnishings. It doesn't Match anything, but it compliments everything. I can't even tell you how pleased I am.

In a few minutes we're going to go to dinner and then to a movie at Francisco's college. They're showing The Bourne Identity, which Francisco and I have seen, but Boy was at camp at the time, so we're seeing it again for him. Should be fun.

I hope the restaurant has light beer. I'm watching the calories.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify