AbFab Rehab

2001-11-12

Another plane crash, which is horrible horrible news, but at least this one might be an accident. Not that it would really be any Better for the families of the people on board, but if I try to put myself in their places, I think I might find it easier to deal with an accident than another act of terrorism. I don't know, I'm just very sorry for the people who are suffering right now because of this new plane crash.

I have to say, selfishly, it doesn't make me feel any too happy about Francisco flying later this week. But I'm not going to think about that right now. A lovely woman, Melissa, emailed me this weekend to say that her husband is also going to Denver for a conference next weekend, and she deduced (correctly) that our spouses are attending the same conference. It's a big conference--approximately 8,000 attendees--but not so big that everyone and his/her brother is going. So it's pretty cool to see that connection--it's like we're all on a giant spiderweb but we don't usually find out how our lines connect with other people's, unless we just happen to find out. Or something like that. Sorry; don't mean to ramble.

I finished Francisco's scarf this weekend and it turned out quite nice. Now he can be a little warmer in Denver, and I can imagine him wearing it while he's gone. I don't like it when he goes away to conferences, because I miss him too much. I mean, life doesn't shut down--things go along like they do while he's home--but it doesn't Feel right. I think this year it will feel even less right, but he'll only be gone 5 days. I decided this morning to take off the day after he gets back, so we'll have the whole day to catch up. We can also make some pies or something, since we have friends coming over for Thanksgiving that next day.

This weekend I did a lot of knitting (the scarf, you know), and the great thing yesterday was, as the fabulous Catie has already mentioned, AbFab was on yesterday afternoon, so I could watch that while I worked. Yesterday they were showing rerun episodes (on Comedy Central), but tonight they're starting New episodes! I just can't tell you how much I love that show, but just like Catie does, I find myself calling people Sweetie or Darling. I also enjoy saying to the cats, "Help Mummy, Sweetie, help Mummy!".

This weekend we did a wee bit of xmas shopping, and I went on a big grocery shopping expedition. Clementines were on sale so I bought a box, and I really love those little fruits. Have you had them? They're little tangerine-like fruits from Spain, and the reason I am describing them is because if you're on the west coast, you may not know they exist. When I lived on the west coast, clementines were not available in the stores (I had never heard of them)--instead we had satsumas. They are very similar, but, sorry satsumas, I think clementines win. They are too, too yummy.

Remember when I talked about the Mother in Law's cat, and I predicted he would become a problem? Well, my timeline was off (I thought it would be sooner), but last night Francisco got a call from MiL's former roommate and current cat caretaker, and she said she needed to get him shipped to MiL as soon as possible. She says he's driving her crazy and also that she will be gone over Thanksgiving, so he needs to leave her house. Francisco has to get ahold of his mom about it, but he has assured me that we will Not take the cat into our house. He knows from prior experience that I cannot sleep through the yowlings of the animal, and besides, our cats Hate her cat. So hopefully we can get the cat shipped out to Seattle very soon, and if MiL doesn't have a place to stay yet, she will just have to make arrangements for her cat to stay with one of her 4 brothers. I know it sounds hardhearted, but after living with that cat for 3 months, we have plenty of reason to not want to live with him again.

My birthday is Thursday, and I'm excited! I'm excited for the birthday proper, but I think I'm more excited about my 34th year in general. I have a project for my 34th year, and I've already sort of gotten started on it, and I tell you what, it's going to be a great year. I will talk about the project at some point, but right now it's still a little too vague to discuss, and also, I just want to keep it to myself for awhile. Partly because anyone hearing about the project would probably think, "THAT's her big project? What a dork." I really like having a plan for my year; I think I will always have a project for every year from now on.

I did fairly well this weekend in my determination to stop eating sugary things. There was an unfortunate incident yesterday with 2 tootsie pops and one frozen yogurt bar, but other than that I did pretty good. And people, I am in the eye of my personal pms storm right now, so a couple tootsie pops and a frozen yogurt bar are virtually Nothing. Our office is having cake and ice cream this afternoon for the new guy's birthday (yesterday), but I will not partake. If I ate cake every time this office had it, I would be one cake-eating fool.

Oh, speaking of the new guy, this weekend I dreamt about him on Saturday and Sunday nights. What I dreamed about him both nights is that he turned out not to be the person I thought he was; he was a little scary. So now I'm wondering if I'm picking up on stuff about him that is so subtle it's not reaching the conscious parts of my brain, and maybe he really Is scary. I will assume for now that he is not scary, but if it turns out otherwise, I will let you know.

Okay, I'm going to stop writing now. If anything of interest occurs, you may hear from me again today, but otherwise, I'll talk to you tomorrow.

Love,

E

PS Help Mummy, Sweetie, help Mummy! |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify