the ice storm cometh

2002-12-04

I have something to say: When you cut fake fur, you should always cut it with the fur side down (cut from the back side), because that way you can keep from cutting the actual fur. I saw Doug on Trading Spaces cut it fur side up, and I just want everyone to know that isn't right. Over.

This morning I got to work and took out my breakfast (some vanilla yogurt and some whole grain chex) and I mixed the cereal into the yogurt and took a bite and it was really good. I said, out loud, "Oh cereal, you make me so happy", and only a few seconds later did I remember that most people don't speak to their food. Fortunately no one heard me. Another food thing that has made me happy lately is Dulce de Leche. Have you had this ambrosia, this nectar of the gods? I impulse-bought it last weekend and it is delicious. Exactly like caramel but with a lot less fat. I totally recommend. If you want to look for it, it is probably in the Hispanic food section; my new favorite. I impulse-buy a lot of things from there, and rarely am I disappointed.

Issue 3. There's a commercial on television that is really irritating me lately--a lot. It's the Staples commercial where the woman is apologizing for knitting people gifts in the past. The commercial clearly implies that giving homemade gifts is tacky and always unappreciated, and if you don't run out and buy laptops and other expensive electronics for people, you don't love them enough. This grates on me for many reasons, but also? WHO gives laptops as Christmas presents???? [Who?! Who?! Who does not want to wear the rribbon?!] I don't know anyone with that much money and that little imagination, but if I ever meet anyone who has gifted a laptop, I'm going to kick them in the crotch. You just watch me. I am out for blood.

There's another commercial on television right now that makes me giggle like a madwoman. It's that Samsonite commercial where two different people are running through an airport (I Think it's an airport) and both dragging roll-y carry-ons. The part that gets me is where the one man gets his carry-on caught on something and he falls but you only see that he fell because he slides into the frame, holding just the handle of the carry-on. Oh man, that is brilliant. There's just something about the slide into view with the handle that kills me every time. Do you know the commercial I mean? If not but if you see a commercial with two men running, dragging luggage, stop everything and watch for the slide. You won't be sorry.

So I did all the projects last night that I'd planned, and good thing too. I have a long mental list of the stuff I need to get done before leaving town, and I need to get cracking. I might be going home early today, because we're supposed to get an ice storm, and wouldn't that be a shame? [the answer is no] I have a project I started last night that I need to continue, and if I'm home early I can get a lot done.

West Wing tonight is a repeat, but I don't care. I will watch West Wing every Wednesday, no matter how many times I've seen a particular episode. It is the Wednesday thing to do. And then South Park because that is the delightfully wicked thing to do.

Gotta run--still have lots of work to do today.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify