allergy throat!

2002-04-02

I was totally bitch slapped by allergies this weekend, it was awful. I woke up on Saturday morning with a throat so sore it felt like I was swallowing thumbtacks. I was convinced I was getting strep throat or something, but as the hours passed and I remained feverless, I yielded to Francisco's suggestion that it might be allergies. He took me out in the afternoon for a slushy and some Tylenol Severe Allergy caplets, and the medicine helped significantly, though it made coffee taste extremely bitter. I didn't come to work yesterday, because the allergies were still pretty bad. I took the T.S.A. when I got up, and it made me all logey and slow. I could tell that, if I came to work, I would get very little done. So I called in and said I didn't feel good, and apparently 1/3 of the people who work here also called in sick. Fortunately it wasn't too busy yesterday. I feel way better today--I think the hard rain we had on Sunday night helped knock much of the pollen out of the air.

On Friday afternoon Francisco went to Costco and came home with a desk, a desk chair, and a filing cabinet. The desk is nice and big, but required assembly. He and I called upon the help of our good friend beer and we did our best, but ultimately could not make a dent in the desk assembly on Friday night. There were no fewer than 50 pieces of wooden things, and there were tons of nuts, bolts, and miscellaneous odd things. We started on it again on Saturday (with me doing very little, as I was moping around with my throat), and it got put together. We figured out partway through that the desk could be assembled with the hutch on the left or right, and that we were putting it on the right and it should be on the left (so as not to block the window). So Francisco had to de-assemble some things to get the hutch on the left, and he worked like a trooper, and I cannot even Tell you how much better our home office looks now. It is a dream office; we are very pleased.

Yesterday after the allergy medicine had worn off, Francisco and I went to The New Mall. It opened about 3 weeks ago but we had never been there, and oh my. It is the best mall ever. I'm not really a Mall Person, per se, but it has some of my favorite stores, such as Restoration Hardware and Pottery Barn, plus there is a store there called Metropolitan Deluxe, and I love it so very much. It is like a hipster home store, and the prices are reasonable. We bought just a few things: A couple of bagels plus a demi-loaf of 4 cheese bread, a home craps game (basically a piece of felt painted with a craps game, some dice, and instructions), and the new iMac. I know. This is a big thing. Francisco has been needing/wanting to update his Mac in order to finish his dissertation, and since he will be receiving some inheritance money soon, he thought he would go ahead. I'm not looking forward to our next credit card bill--I'll need to get liquored before opening it. So yeah, we went out, we bought a few things. Francisco is Thrilled with his new iMac, and I am thrilled for him.

With the help of Catie, I have figured out that this is my 11th week of BFL, not my 12th. I am pretty glad about this, actually, because I have been slacking a little in the past few days, and an extra week will give me more time to make up for it. I am recommitted. It helped to go to the mall yesterday and see all the cute clothes that are waiting for me. We went through the Nordstrom shoe section, and now I want to buy shoes--lots and lots of shoes. Nordstrom has the best shoes of any department store, in my opinion (and based on the fact that I have not seen all the department stores there are to be seen, my opinion is limited). The shoe section contains a good selection and a range of prices, which means I can actually afford some of the shoes. Not most, but some. We saw $200 canvas sneakers there, and I have to say, can they truly be worth it? Not to me. They looked like Keds, only a little different, and I am not a big Keds fan.

Francisco and I have decided where we will go on our vacation this summer; we're going to fly into Amsterdam and make our way (via Eurail passes) through Belgium, France, and Germany. We're going to end up back in Amsterdam and fly out of there. We're so excited to actually have a destination now, even though it's not the exotic trip I was originally envisioning. Since we've never traveled outside the U.S. before, we figure we should make it a little easier for ourselves this first time. When we're seasoned travelers, Then we'll hit the exotic places.

One of my coworkers lent me a tape of the Trading Spaces straw wall episode-the one where Hilde glues straw to the walls and paints the ceiling Pepto-Bismal pink. I'd heard a lot about that episode, so I knew to expect a mostly ugly room, but I was still surprised at the hideousness of it. I actually felt a little nauseous while looking at that room, though it may have been the Tylenol Severe Allergy. What was Hilde thinking? Genevieve's kitchen turned out nice, I thought, though I wouldn't want that dark blue in my own kitchen.

Don't forget--tonight is the Osbournes! I cannot get enough of that show. Also, yesterday when home I watched a show on the Oxygen network (not a channel I frequent) that I really liked. It was the Isaac Mizrahi show, and it was very interesting. There were actually 2 shows in a row that I watched; the first was about this event where 20 men and 20 women congregate in a room and all 20 women meet all 20 men in the space of one hour. They talk for 3 minutes and switch, and they write down which people they'd like to see again. I think it was organized by a dating service, actually, because someone follows up to let people know when they wrote each other's names down. The second show was about Isaac designing a wedding dress for his friend; she is 50 and was getting married for the first time. It was fun to watch him shopping for the fabric and designing and whatnot, and I don't know; he's just a funny person. Some of the things that came out of his mouth were hysterical.

I think that's all for now--much catch-up to be done from being out yesterday.

More tomorrow,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify