shirtless and loving it

2001-08-31

During my lunch hour I went walking, and I walked about 40 minutes. It's very humid here, and fairly hot, so I got tres sweaty. When I got back to my office I locked the door, cranked the AC, and took my shirt off. Ah, it was fabulous. I like having a locking office door. And AC.

Yesterday afternoon a friend emailed me an interview of a young guy who has published a book on obtaining college scholarships. She sent this to me because there is apparently a scholarship for children of nude sunbathers. Boy is only 10, but I guess it's never too early to start thinking about college. Who says nudism doesn't have tangible benefits?!

Speaking of Boy, last night I spent about 30 minutes writing a letter of recommendation for him, because his teacher is having the students apply for "jobs" in the classroom. Boy is applying to be on the Leadership Committee, which would involve responsibilities ranging from running errands to keeping track of how many laps each kid runs during recess (I guess they have lap-running contests or something). Francisco helped Boy with his resume and cover letter; I hope he gets the job. It was fun to write the letter of recommendation, and I even sealed it in an envelope and signed across the flap, as is proper. I think this job application thing is a great learning experience for the kids. Now you see why I think Boy's teacher is so good!?

I decided last night that I would wait until Spring to take a sewing class. I am going to be considerably smaller in size by the end of the year, and there is no sense in sewing something that won't fit by the time I'm finished making it. The sewing class will be my big reward for getting back to my Fighting Weight, as I like to call it. It's a good reward because I'm really looking forward to it; it's just that much more incentive.

Here's the story of when Francisco and I got engaged. We'd only been dating three months or so, but we both felt we were right for each other. I knew he was going to 'propose' to me on his birthday, because he had told me, so that I would be able to think it over in advance. On his birthday we went out to breakfast, and he proposed over bowls of granola. I of course said yes, and from his pocket he produced a ring. Not a diamond ring, mind you; no, it was a man's blue glass pinky ring. He got that as a joke ring because he thought I'd want to choose the engagement ring myself, but I thought the pinky ring was really funny and I wore it until I got the diamond one. It turned my finger green, but I loved it anyway, and I have cherished it. I think I'll start wearing it occasionally; it'll fit nicely into my chunky plastic ring rotation. We were engaged for 7 months before we got married, and we were correct--we Are right for each other. I would like to highly recommend getting engaged in the morning, because that way you have a whole day to be ecstatic. Seriously. That was one of the best days I have ever had, if not The best, and Francisco concurs.

I'm so happy to have a 3 day weekend. Francisco has to teach on Monday so no 3 day weekend for him, but Boy and I are set to enjoy it. I am going to take him to the Princess Diaries on Monday, which is not something I particularly care to see, but he wants to see it and I probably won't hate it. It cannot possibly be as bad as Cats and Dogs; nothing could be. 'Manos; Hands of Fate' was a masterpiece compared to Cats and Dogs. Otherwise this weekend I'm going to do the normal cleaning and laundry things, and go to the library and to the gym tomorrow morning, but no big plans. Mostly I'm just excited to sleep in for 3 mornings in a row.

I hope everyone has a terrific weekend! Talk to you Tuesday!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify