small milestone

2001-07-17

This is my 150th entry. The number means nothing to me, but I just thought I'd share.

I am still wearing my big old glasses, which means that I'm still just as pretty as a picture. My hair has been very cruel lately and has been giving one bad hair day after another. You'd think the glasses would be enough, but no, the hair has to get in on the action. I'm waiting for a call-back from my Dr. so I can get a referral to an opthamologist, because my eyes are still a little red and now they are itchy. I would like the reassurance only an opthamologist can bring, and plus I want to know if there is anything I need to do to my contact lenses, regarding sterilizing them, before I can wear them again. Hopefully I won't have to wait for the call much longer.

I went to TJ Maxx at lunch, and it was so much fun. I bought nothing but I wandered around looking at all the things I could get my sister for her birthday on the 28th. I love my sister's birthday more than anyone else's birthday, including mine. I love to shop for her because she likes so many of the things I like and also because she still needs a lot of stuff, since she's a student and all. I will begin to shop soon, in earnest, and I have So many ideas. I won't say what because sometimes she reads here, but believe me when I say she will love them.

We did a wee bit of shopping last night, not for my sister, but for us, and just at the Walmart. I'm not a huge Walmart fan, but it is very close and the one in my town is rarely as crowded as some others I've been to. Basically we just bought some container things for Boy's room (the project is almost complete now) and I bought a skirt and shirt that I am wearing today. Total outfit price was approx $15. The skirt is kind of tropically-themed, and the shirt is just a white t-shirt, but I feel very much as though I am at a luau, lining up for poi. On a side note, who first found out what poi is from watching those two 'Brady Bunch go to Hawaii' episodes? I know I did.

Well, young Bingo has moved on. I am disappointed but not too surprised that he wouldn't choose to settle in the culvert forever. I hope wherever he is, the food is plentiful and tasty.

We called Boy last night to talk about the camp he wanted to attend, and found out he has changed his mind about going. Which is fine, because he has good reasons, and we will find him a fun camp to go to next summer. I was a little disappointed to hear he wouldn't be going, though, because I had mentally selected several things already that I would send in his package, and now I can't do that. I'll get over it.

I have mentioned my love for the show M*A*S*H several times now, but I want to talk about one aspect of the show that is jarring to me now that I am a grown-up. When I was a kid I didn't think twice about this, but the whole 'surgeons getting drunk and then operating on people' thing really gives me pause. Real surgeons don't drink, or if they do, they drink only very little and not the night before they do surgery, because it makes the hands shaky. Real surgeons get a lot of sleep and do everything they can to be sure they are mentally and physically ready to cut people open. Obviously M*A*S*H is a fictional show, but wow, I wouldn't want drunk surgeons operating on me. That's all I'm saying.

Our cat Esther loves our clothes closet. I mean she LOOOOOOVES it. She likes to be carried around the house in the morning, and when we approach the closet, her neck starts craning. Her purring increases and she meows impatiently. Once in the closet, she rubbernecks shamelessly and stretches her neck to sniff the clothes on the shelves. I have no clue why the closet is such a great place to her, but it really really is. I love how cats are so quirky; they are Never boring.

I think my work is done here. I need to see if I can do something with this hair, and then I need to get to work. Gotta get caught up, gotta get caught up.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify