a return to wild sage

2002-09-12

One of my coworkers (we will call her Jan) went shopping at lunch (to some big department store sale) and came back with a dress that she said she didn't try on at the store, so she tried it on in the bathroom. It was too small, so Jan urged another (smaller) coworker to try it on. That coworker (we will call her Misty) tried the dress on and it fit and it looked good, so Jan gave it to her. But I just found out that was all a big ruse from the start. Jan didn't buy the dress for herself or try it on in the bathroom--she bought that dress on purpose to give to Misty, because Misty is a single mom and has, like, NO money. Jan feels for her, because Jan is a mom of grown up kids, and she kind of mothers the younger women here, and Misty clearly has a hard life. Misty doesn't know that Jan bought the dress for her; she was fooled by Jan's story of being too fat for the dress. It is kindness like this that makes me want to burst into noisy emotional sobs for some reason, and it is kindness like this that makes me want to be a kinder person myself. Not to get all mushy on you guys or anything. But seriously, I need to start looking for ways to be nicer to people. Resolved!

The exterior of our house is being painted as we speak--the color is called Wild Sage. A funny thing this morning was Francisco took one of the outside lights off the house (the one by the front door), and he could see that at some point in the past, the house had been painted a color very similar to Wild Sage. That would've been in it's pre-pink stage. So the house is returning to its roots, and I am starting to worry I won't want to move away from here when it's time to move away. What with all the changes and improvements we've made in our 3+ years there, the house is damn near perfect now. Or at least, perfect for us. Here is what we ("we" meaning Francisco, and guest-starring me as his loveable but inept assistant) have done in the house since we've lived there:

Painted every room but the office, and this includes stripping wallpaper from the kitchen and both bathrooms first.

Recarpeted

New flooring in kitchen and both bathrooms

New light fixtures in kitchen, stairwell, and downstairs bathroom

Installed ceiling fans in office and Boy's bedroom

Changed out ugly ceiling fans in living room and our bedroom

Tiled countertop in our bathroom

Put in shelves in kitchen and living room

Stained most of the deck (some of it is still pending)

And I don't even want to get into all the yard stuff we've done. But I'm a little annoyed, actually, because when the home improvements are written out in list form they doesn't sound like all that much, but believe me; it's like a whole new house in there. Especially with the new carpet, because the dog body stench exited with the old carpet. My point? I just really like my house, and I'm liking it more all the time, but at some point in the future I'm going to have to move away from it. That will be a sad day.

Last night we didn't watch any television. We went out to go to Home Depot for various things, but first we stopped and had dinner at a restaurant I love. I had the best dinner. I had meatloaf (it came with a very spicy tomato sauce), mashed potatoes, and green beans. It was served with cornbread also, but I couldn't eat that--it was too much. But man oh man, that dinner was just the ticket. I rarely have meatloaf, but when I do I recall all over again how much I love it.

This morning we turned on the news, thinking we might see some actual news, now that it is 9/12, but that was a pipe dream. The news stations were reporting on the 9/11 hoopla. Francisco turned to me and said, "Now we're remembering the remembering. Remember when we remembered? That was awesome." We are just very tired of the media frenzy surrounding the 9/11 anniversary. I don't think it will be like this every year. From now on the major frenzies will occur only on anniversaries divisible by 5, as is dictated in the Bible.

But truly, I hope your day yesterday went well. It was a very hard day for many people, and I feel much sympathy for all them. I am fortunate to not have lost anyone I know in the attacks, and fortunate to not have witnessed them in person, and this allows me to gain some emotional distance from the whole thing. Emotional distance is my coping strategy--probably not the greatest way to cope, but it has worked for me so far.

Love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify