weekend update

2002-03-20

Let me try again. I'm just going to summarize this time, because it's quicker and probably more interesting that way. This weekend was quite hectic and frankly I'm amazed any of us made it through. Boy and I flew out Saturday morning, early (and he got back from his field trip at 11:15 pm Friday night, so we didn't get enough sleep), and we were busy the entire time we were in Seattle. My parents came up from Oregon for the funeral, and we had dinner with them Saturday night, and breakfast (I had banana fritters with lemon sauce...) on Sunday morning . They hung out with Boy after Sunday's breakfast while we did stuff, and they brought him to the funeral that afternoon.

The funeral went well. Lots more people showed up than I expected, and many of the people who came were people who knew Francisco's dad from way back. They told some great stories. There was much weeping and much laughing. Francisco talked about his dad for awhile and broke down at the end. More weeping. It was fairly grueling, but I feel that Francisco's dad was remembered well, and will be missed by many more people than just his family.

After the funeral, my parents left to go back home, and we went back to Francisco's sister's house for dinner, and then we got dropped at the airport. The Boy fell asleep so deeply (he does that sometimes) at the gate that it was impossible to wake him when it was time to get on the plane. He had to be carried on, and I'm sure more than one person was suspicious that we had drugged him and were kidnapping him. He slept the whole time on both planes, but I think he's still running on a sleep deficit. I know I am.

Francisco's sister talked to me a little about the night her dad died. I didn't have the whole story before, and the whole story is still sad, but a little less sad. What happened before her dad died, after he told her he was weak and dizzy, is she sat with him for a long time, talking with him. She had actually persuaded him to let her call an ambulance--he said okay, but in a few more minutes. She said okay and went up to check on her baby, and five minutes later when she went back downstairs, he had passed. She says that she believes he knew he was going to die that night, looking back, and she doesn't know why she didn't realize it at the time. After hearing her tell about that night, I agree, and I think he didn't want to go to the hospital because he wanted to die at home. I think his death happened the way he wanted it, and even though I still feel bad that he died, it's a little less painful. Francisco's mom mentioned that their dad had always said he would never leave his house unless it was feet first, so I guess it's good it worked out that way. We will all still miss him, of course, but I'm glad he didn't have to die hooked up to a respirator, in a hospital, without his dog there. He really loved that dog. Francisco's sister is trying to find the dog another home; one where she (the dog) will rule the roost and be pampered like she is used to. I hope they can find someone soon, because the dog needs a person. Anyone in Seattle want a sweet, fat English pointer? Let me know.

We got home at about 9:00 a.m. on Monday morning. Francisco and I slept a little more, then he had to go teach a class. I unpacked the suitcases and did some laundry, and then took Boy to the dentist. He had track practice to go to too, but we got delayed at the dentist and weren't going to make it to track in time, so we bagged it. Yesterday when I came to work there was an Enormous orchid (with 2 flower stalks) waiting in my office. A bereavement gift, and a very nice one. I've wanted an orchid for awhile, but I wish we had gotten it under different circumstances. I was feeling sad and very tired yesterday morning, and when I read the card I bawled like a baby. I find that kindness can undo me far more easily than meanness.

So I'm back and I wish I had more good stories to tell, but not much happened in Seattle that was not funeral-related. Oh, I got to see my baby niece a lot, and she is the shit. She's very interactive now (she's 4 � months old) and she seemed to like me as much as a 4 � month old can like anyone. She kept giving me these big gummy grins, and I gave her lots of kisses. I think she and I are going to be great friends.

Francisco is flying back to Seattle this Friday and he will stay until next Wednesday. He and his sister have to close out their father's business and meet with a probate lawyer, and probably do one or two other things. After they accomplish that stuff, there won't be much left to do. His sister plans to make some cosmetic improvements to the house and then sell it, because she doesn't want to live there anymore. In addition to the house having some bad memories, the neighborhood has really gone downhill in recent years, and I can see why she wouldn't want to raise children there. I think it will take awhile to do the improvements and sell the house--probably a year or so.

That's the update, kitty cats. I'll write again soon and will talk about happier things, but right now I have to resume the stamping out of tiny fires (Out of the office for one day, and I have a stack of files and a glut of emails to return. Lousy job...).

Take care,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify