Survivor Satay

2002-09-19

I've been meaning to mention just how damn good the Proactiv is, and I've been forgetting. Seriously, at the risk of sounding like an infomercial, the stuff really works. Currently I am blemish-free, and that's not something that has happened very often in the past. I haven't had as much trouble with my skin as some people I know, but generally there has always been at least one blemish in evidence on my face. Now? None. They don't bill this as a remedy for rosacea, but it's working for me and I'll keep using it. If you've been thinking about ordering the Proactiv but have hesitated because you are skeptical about whether it works, wait no longer. Go order it now; I can wait.

Oh, you're back! Great. The Boy has just started doing his school's afterschool program a few days a week, because the program they have offers classes in different things--kind of like extracurricular activities. They have a drama class, a Tae Kwon Do class, a "junior police" club, and some other stuff. Boy was particularly interested in the Tae Kwon Do and the junior police, while we are encouraging him to consider the drama class. The child is a natural. Anyway, he went to afterschool for the first time yesterday and it was the junior police thing, and he said it was ridiculous. He said the woman police officer in charge of the class/club treated them like babies. "These are handcuffs. This is a gun.", Boy said, mimicking the woman's slow, carefully enunciated speech. I told him it might get better but I think he's written it off. He's looking forward to the Tae Kwon Do class though. Tony's in it and apparently the class/club competes with other classes/clubs and they have special uniforms. Honestly, I think the uniforms are the draw for Boy more than anything else. He loves uniforms.

Personally I'm really into red lately. Today I'm wearing black pants with a red shirt, a red beady necklace, a red beady anklet, and earrings that are silver but have some red stone also. My toenails are red. I'm on the hunt for red pants and red shoes. Whenever I'm in a clothing store I am drawn to every spot of red there. It's a red obsession. OH! I meant to talk about this at the time and I forgot--it is off the topic of red. I was in the Old Navy a little over a week ago and I noticed they have jeans billed for "curvy" women--jeans that are a little larger, proportionally, in the hips and thighs than regular straight-leg jeans. So naturally, having curvy hips and thighs, I was looking at these jeans, and the largest size they had was an 8. And I'm wondering what the point is, because if you're a size 8 or smaller, most jeans will fit you okay even if they're the normal straight-legged type. Possibly they had sold out their stock of these jeans in sizes larger than 8, but who knows. If they don't make them in larger sizes, that seems a little stupid. Do you hear me, Old Navy? It's Stupid! Jackholes.

This morning Francisco, god bless him, saw on the TEEvee that Survivor Thailand is starting tonight. I knew it was coming up but I didn't remember when it started. Just think if he didn't see that! The horror. We told Boy about Survivor and he was all excited. Survivor is our family show, along with West Wing. We let Boy stay up until 10:00 on Wednesday nights (his normal bedtime is 9:30) for West Wing, and about 40% of the time he actually stays awake. The other 60% he falls asleep and has to be roused at 10:00 to go to bed. Last night he managed to stay awake, but it was touch and go. I digress. I am ridiculously excited for the new Survivor--I think it's going to be GOOD. You'll think this is silly--and it is--but we do little things to make watching Survivor special. We light candles and/or make special beverages and/or sit on the floor around the television (which is not our normal viewing position), and etc. So yeah, it's silly, but you know how much stock I put in the little things of life. Survivor is one of those little things.

Another thing is a good dinner. Last night Francisco was on a conference call with his sister and their probate lawyer, so he said we should just have nature burgers for dinner, since they are fast, but while he was on the phone I whipped together a chili that turned out pretty well. I used spices (duh), onion, green pepper, tomato sauce, salsa, canned beans, and some kind of meat. Actually, it was pork and I know it was pork now, but when it was in the freezer I didn't know if it was pork or beef. I figured either would be fine so I defrosted it, and voila. Not gourmet by any stretch, but more satisfying than nature burgers.

Speaking of voila, I need to use that more. In France people voila'd us everywhere. We would order coffee, they would bring it and say "voila". We would buy something and they would take our money and hand over the change and say "voila". They're very big on voila over there. What's to stop Me from voila-ing people? Just the fact that I'm not French? Sure. Throw That in my face.

I will go now and do some good honest work. Dammit. Have a good night and don't forget to either watch Survivor or consciously reject Survivor. I would, of course, urge you to watch, but it's none of my business.

Voila!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify