she sprayed the vet

2002-03-29

Oh my god. I talked in my previous entry about how Francisco took the cats to the vet this morning, but he called me afterwards and told me some funny shit. Naturally the cats yowled all the way to the vet and all the way home. And of course the vet said Esther needs to eat the light food again (I will have to exchange the unopened bag of regular cat food I just bought) because she's gained a pound this year. What I didn't anticipate is that Lucy would empty her anal glands when the vet was handling her. She's never done that before at the vet, so I guess it's new in her repertoire. The vet was grossed out (duh) and had to wipe the table with tissues, and then she had to take Lucy out to wash her ass, because it was just that nasty. And she had to take the garbage can out of the room because the tissues she threw away in there stank. It took me such a long time to stop laughing when Francisco was telling me this story.

To explain anal glands, in case you don't have cats--they are scent glands in the butt and I guess in some cats they fill up with fluid (stinky fluid) and get impacted. Lucy is one of these cats; I used to have to take her to the vet once a month to get her glands squeezed. You've heard people talk about male cats spraying to mark their territory? They're spraying from their anal glands. Yeah, so let me know if you have questions, and I can hardly wait to see what kind of Google searches point people here because I spoke of anal glands.

The vet also gave us some stuff to give to Lucy for her gingivitis. We have to give her this stuff 10 days in a row every other month. This amuses Francisco and me, because Lucy is such a growler when we have to clip her claws or medicate her. We get her mummified in a towel and she makes the most unearthly noises. This gingivitis treatment should be a real hoot for all of us. This is sarcasm, just so you know.

Anyway, I guess that's enough about the cats and their vet visit. I dislike taking them to the vet because they hate it, but it fascinates me at the same time. I like seeing how the girls interact with other people and how they react to being in a strange environment. Someday I will have 30 cats and will observe their every move. I will be the Jane Goodall of cats.

I forgot to talk about Survivor before. I was very surprised that Gabriel was voted out, and it's too bad because he was easy on the eyes. I loved seeing Maraamu (aka Mockahoochi) win the challenges, and I hope the Rotu tribe will keep losing for awhile. I want to see John and Rob (the one with the obnoxious "pahk the cahh" accent) and Sean voted out, because they bug me. That's the best part of Survivor, actually--seeing the people you don't like get the boot. In my opinion.

Over.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify