If you have poor taste, have I got a scarf for you!

2002-05-06

Dear Stomach,

I don't know what kind of sick little game you're playing, but buddy, wrap it up or I'ma gonna dose you with the Pepto Bismal. Remember what happened the last time you had the Pepto? Remember the retching? The heaving? Bitch, I'm through messing around. Stop with the burny sick feeling or you Will get the pink stuff. Capische?

Sincerely,

Tattoobelly

I don't mean to be harsh, but you have to show the organs who's boss, ya know? Yeah, I've had this very unpleasant stomach for a couple of days and nothing is making it better. Combine the stomach with the continuing saga of the eye, and you can't blame me for feeling a little surly. I called in sick today, though, so there's one good thing. I felt okay about calling in because I brought a large number of files home over the weekend and got all the preliminary stuff done on them, so progress was made.

Re: the eye, the pisser is, of course, having to wear my glasses everywhere, because see, I have freak glasses. They are very nicely designed frames, but when the manufacturers inserted the thick crazy lenses my virtually blind eyes require, the glasses got ugly in a hurry. I have the kind of glasses people stare at, uneasily. People can't seem to fully look away, and I know they are fascinated that they can see the sides of my head through my glasses. It is embarrassing to have to wear these glasses, though a little funny, in a sort of detached observer way, and I am ready for it to be over. The eye is improving, but not fast enough. I am a little sad about it, but I am holding up. End of story.

Yesterday I started knitting the world's most hideous scarf ever; I'm very excited. What started this project was noticing, for the grillionth time, that I have a lot of yarn I will probably never use for anything. The yarn is acrylic, which is not my favorite, but which is fine for things like slippers and learning to knit sorts of projects. I want to buy yarn in Europe--I want gorgeous wools, handspun by hardy mountain women if possible. But how can I buy a bunch of gorgeous yarn when I have wads of yarn already? The answer is the hideous scarf, which will use up almost all of the yarn and be most likely donated to Salvation Army upon completion. I am counting on a chilly, color-blind person taking advantage of the scarf's undoubtedly low price at said Salvation Army. He or she will be warmer and I will be karmically freed to buy more yarn. The perfect solution for everyone, no?

This weekend I wrote down all the things we need to do pre-trip and scheduled when the things will get done. I feel so much better already. On Saturday we tried to see Spiderman but we were told at the theater that we'd have to come back in two hours because it was sold out until then. Screw that, we rented movies instead. We got A.I. (way too long like everyone said) and Sexy Beast. Obviously Sexy Beast is not Boy-friendly, so we hadn't watched it and it's due tomorrow. Francisco said he wouldn't have time to watch it but since I stayed home today I watched it, and I proclaim it good. Hard to watch in a lot of places, but a good story and very suspenseful. Ben Kingsley is so impressive--he has quite a range. Why is he not in more films? Anyone?

Yesterday Francisco and Boy went to Spiderman while I stayed home with the files. They also bought baseball mitts while they were out because Boy is newly obsessed with baseball. He spent the day Friday (a teacher workday) with a friend who is quite a jock and who loves baseball. Boy and his friend spent a lot of time playing catch and some time batting, and jock boy was very encouraging to Boy, telling him he has good aim and that he should play second base, yadda yadda. Is it any wonder Boy can speak only of baseball now?

Also this weekend, we took steps toward getting new carpet. We have someone coming to measure the rooms on Tuesday afternoon and we've narrowed our carpet choices to two or three. I can't believe that after all this time we'll finally be rid of the dog body stench. Because it's still smellable on hot days, and that's just gross. We aim to have the recarpeting done before our trip, and that way things will be nicer for my parents. The worst part of the carpet thing will be the study, because we just got the enormous desk and the carpet guys won't move it. We'll have to take it apart into at least a couple of pieces to get it out of the room. We'll also have to empty the three bookcases and move those, to make the hell complete.

One last thing about the weekend--we went to REI and bought shoes. We both got good walking shoes and I also got sandals. I wore the walking shoes once and they are very comfortable except the back of the shoes is too high up my heels and they sort of hurt my achilles tendon region. I'm going to try and break them in in the heel area during this next week, but if they are still uncomfortable I'm going to take them to the genius shoe repair man and see if he can make them lower in the back. The design of the back looks alterable, so hopefully they can be fixed if need be.

I think that's all for now. Back to the charity scarf,

Love,

E

PS It just occurred to me that I might be able to pawn the scarf off onto some fun diaryland person. If you would like the scarf, for whatever nefarious purpose, please write to me and let me know. If more than one person inquires, I will have to hold an essay contest. Just so you know, the scarf is being knit in a stockinette stitch, and will be double thick. It is currently bright yellow, light yellow, red, brown, variegated blue, and light blue. I plan to add stripes of black, royal blue, more light yellow, more red, more brown, and some camouflage. You can now tell I have not exaggerated when speaking of the scarf's unfortunate color scheme. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify