should've done some stretching before all that html

2005-07-27

I've been looking around for a new pocketbook (purse, handbag--I prefer pocketbook), because I like the one I have but I've been carrying it for at least a year and a half now, and you know sometimes a girl wants a change. I would have already bought a new pocketbook Months ago (which is when I started looking around) except I HATE every single pocketbook for sale in every store. Seriously, is it just me or are pocketbooks really effing hideous right now? I mean, look at this cavalcade of gruesome wares. And most of those are designer, with price tags to match; shouldn't they be..oh, I don't know....NOT UGLY?? I'm not in the market for a designer bag, and it's a good thing, because if I was going to fork over $600-$1,000 for a pocketbook, I would at least like to be able to view it without retching. I just. I'm really at a loss here. I can't be alone in hating current pocketbook styles, can I? The emperor has no clothes!

Relatedly, recently I was thinking about how bags are being searched before people get on subways, and I was specifically thinking it's good I don't live in NYC, because if I did I'd be tempted to fill the largest bag I had with really crazy and random shit before every subway trip. Clown doll, snowglobe, colander, Santa hat, Vagisil, bunch of grapes, framed 8 x 10 photo of Henry Ford, football cleats, 7 tubes of toothpaste, squeegee, mini bongo drums, cheerleader skirt, package of Ho-Hos, Partridge Family record, 5 cans of deviled ham, an enormous rawhide bone, and a lemon. That kind of thing. I know this would be very inconvenient for my fellow subway travellers, so if I lived in NYC and had a bag full of weird stuff, I would make sure not to use the subway during work-commute hours. I do have Some good sense, you know.

Song of the Day:

The Oakridge Boys' cover of Kansas' Carry on Wayward Son (scroll down to 7/18). NO I'm not kidding. Listen to it or don't listen to it--it's the song of the day and I stand by that decision.

So I bet you've been wondering what I've been up to lately, haven't you?

*crickets*

Well fine, but I'm going to tell you anyway: Not much. This weekend I left the house once each day and otherwise stayed in like the hermit I am. On Saturday Francisco and I went to a Farmers' Market and bought beautiful vegetables, and on Sunday we went to Goodwill, PetCo, and Costco. At the Farmers' Market I saw a little yarn stand, with Gorgeous yarns someone had handspun and dyed, and I was all attracted to the yarns [well hello there...] and practically hyperventilating over their beauty until I saw their price tags. And I know a lot of work goes into spinning and dyeing yarn, so I imagine the prices reflected those hours of labor, but Damn; who can pay $25 for what looked like 50 yards or less of yarn? I think you'd need at least two of those weird loopy skeins just to make a hat or something else small, so a sweater would end up running you.....just let me do a quick calculation......and carry the 3......ONE MILLION DOLLARS. After I saw that yarn I started wondering how much wool costs in its raw form, and some internet research has indicated there's a sheep farm in Ellensburg [which is....anyone? anyone? where we're moving!] that sells whole fleeces, which are 5-8 pounds on average, for prices that start at $3/pound. I think the per pound price depends on what kind of sheep it is, because different sheep produce different qualities of wool. I would choose the best quality available, and even if it cost, let's say, $10/pound, that's still pretty cheap for that much wool. Imagine if a girl could learn to spin and dye yarn and put $25 price tags on small bunches of it! Now imagine if that girl was me! I am hypothetically getting very rich over here.

Pet Peeve of the Day:

I hate when people (characters in books or movies or whatever) say "I think I love you", because come on. You either love someone or you don't, and if you're not sure, maybe you should wait to say anything until you've figured it out. Someday I will write a story where a character says, "I think I love you", and the recipient of that statement slaps the character across the face and storms off in a huff. This will be my revenge.

Last night we watched A Very Long Engagement, from Netflix, and we really liked it. Highly recommended, especially if you liked Amelie, because it has the same director and the same feel to it: Lovely.

I don't normally do this, but right now I would like to give some advice to people who are unencumbered by a relationship or dependents: Go work in Antarctica for a few months! I've been doing some idle research into work in Antarctica, and though I am of course thrilled to have a great spouse and kid, I still wish I could go to Antarctica for a little while. I've wanted to go there for as long as I can remember, but I always thought it was more difficult to get work there than it actually turns out to be. I mean, it's not Easy, but from what I've read it's definitely possible, even if a person doesn't have specialized sciencey training. The key appears to be attending some job fair in Denver, which is where the Raytheon headquarters is--Raytheon being the company that contracts the US Antarctic research whatever blah blah--and being willing to take a job such as Janitor. I would be more than willing to be a janitor, but I can't just bring Francisco and Sharky along with me, and I'd miss them too much if I went without them (not to mention the guilt of abandoning my post), so it's not going to work out. But man, I wish someone I knew would go to Antarctica, so I could live vicariously through their experience. That would be so Awesome.

It's still ridiculously hot here; I just thought you ought to know.

Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify