bespectacled yet again

2002-04-29

Okay, what is going on with the X-Files? I haven't been watching, for the most part, this season, but holy crap! Scully gave her baby away?! Should I know the people with whom William was shown in the final scene? Have they been featured before? And Spender was back? I didn't think he was dead, but still, I didn't anticipate him showing up last night. Can anyone give me a rundown of the main things that have happened this season? I know I'm a pain in the ass, but I think I want to watch the rest of the episodes and if I don't know what happened until now, I won't know what's going on. Por favor?

Saturday morning Francisco and I were sitting around in our pajamas, and he went out to get the mail and in the mail were our passports! We were too, too excited. We looked at them several times and signed them and put them in our moneybelts and put the moneybelts on and then took the belts off and looked at the passports again, and basically they made our day. They are now in the safe, waiting for June. We got the tickets for my parents to come out, and we got our tickets for our trip. We decided to fly into Amsterdam and out of Milan, because we figured out it's not nearly as expensive to fly in one place and out another as we had previously thought. We emailed hotels in Amsterdam, Paris, and Nice to ask for reservations for the nights we'll be there, and we'll see if there are vacancies. We reserved a car to rent from Paris to Milan; the plan is as follows. Fly into Amsterdam and stay 4 days. Take the bullet train to Paris (stopping off in Brussels for a few hours) and stay in Paris 4 days. Then we'll take 6 days to meander from Paris to Nice or Antibes (we think we might switch to Antibes) by car and stay a couple nights, then to Milan to stay overnight and get a flight out the next day. People, we can hardly wait! It's still so unreal, though. Probably won't be seem real even after we get to Amsterdam.

So Friday night we had cocktails with a few of my coworkers, and that went on longer than anticipated. We went out for dinner with one coworker and her spouse, and that was fun and the food was good. Went home and paid off the babysitter, and Boy was already very tired so he basically went straight to bed. We stayed up a little while, and Francisco fell asleep while I read. Saturday morning was the pajama lounging/passport receiving day, and later that day we went out and bought gifts. One for my coworker who is leaving (money was collected for a gift cert), one for my sister who is getting her M.A. next month, and a couple of Mother's Day gifts. It was all very Kris Kringle. After the gift buying I went home and started dinner (I neglected to say we left the truck at work on Friday night, so we picked it up pre-mall on Saturday) and Francisco went and rented some movies. He got Slap Shot, which I've been wanting to see again for awhile, and it turned out to be quite innappropriate for Boy. I didn't realize that because previously I'd only seen sanitized tv versions. Once we figured out Boy shouldn't watch it, we put in another movie Francisco rented: When We Were Kings. Wow! I was only 6 or 7 when the Rumble in the Jungle took place, and when Ali was in his heyday (I've never liked boxing much, and I remember my dad watching it but I didn't watch with him), so I only just figured out how great he was when I watched that movie. Really amazing, and when I listened to him talk in the movie, it occurred to me that maybe he is the father of rap music. Any music experts want to agree or disagree? I know little about the roots of rap, but Ali sure took talking to a whole other level.

But can I go back to Slap Shot for a minute? Because if you haven't seen that movie, I implore you to do so. Paul Newman is so good in that, and I can't even tell you how much I love the Hanson Brothers. When they first took the ice, Francisco and I were laughing so hard we got sore stomachs. The Hansons are such amoral characters--they just do what they love and what they love is hockey and fighting. They remind me strongly of labrador retrievers, especially when they skate and their hair flies back, like the ears of labs when they run. I'm just going to have to buy this movie; that's all there is to it.

Saturday night (or really Sunday morning) I had a nightmare that Boy was 2 years old and I left him alone for half a minute in a public place, and he disappeared. The rest of the dream was me running around, frantic, calling for him. I found several other lost boys, but none was Boy. Very upsetting. Yesterday there was more morning pajama-sitting, and then we did all the ticket and reservation stuff. I planted those Canna lilies on Sunday, potted a rosemary start, and repotted a fern that wasn't doing well. I vacuumed and dusted and changed the sheets and did laundry. I made pasta with clam sauce and it was good. I meant to go to bed at 9:00 but the X-Files sucked me in and made me its bitch. I slept okay last night but it was hot and I couldn't get to the right temperature so there was much tossing and turning. We got up this morning and went to the gym. I lifted weights (upper body) and Francisco lifted weights and did the treadmill and bike.

What is really sucking about today is that I'm wearing my glasses. My right eye developed an irritated lower lid yesterday, and though I could probably tough it out with my contact lenses today, the eyelid would not be getting healing time. This morning I decided that, odious as it is, I need to be a grownup and wear the ugly glasses and frighten people with my prescription. If I don't, my lid will hurt for longer and that would be stupid. Just so you can get an idea of the thickness of my glasses, I measured my right lens a second ago and it is a full 1/3 of an inch thick; no lie. And the left lens is even thicker, because you know, that's my Bad eye. The glasses were constructed using the latest "thin grind" technology, and I am so grateful for that technology because these glasses would totally be coke bottle without it. I can't wait to get some kind of surgery, even if it has to be that contact lens inserted into the eye thing. Bring it!

You should read Jimmyusual if you haven't already done so. His latest entry contains a line that cracked me up. I won't quote him exactly, but he said by the time he was 14 he was already shaving and going through a messy divorce. Go see the context if you're curious. Also, in his weekend entry he says "ding dang", and I say that all the time and I sort of thought no one else said that so I was surprised and pleased.

Gotta cut this off now, as our office is going out to lunch today and I have to get some stuff done first. I don't know what I'll order, because I want to stick with BFL today and also because my boss still thinks I'm a vegetarian so I can't eat meat in front of him. Looks like fish or shrimp for Eva.

I hope your weekends were great!

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify