a smorgasbord

2003-08-20

This morning a coworker sent me a chain email with a 'cute' little yellow ribbon in it and told me not to break the chain. If I were to forward the email to 10 people I know, something good would happen to me at 11:11 pm, like someone will call me or I'll get email from someone who loves me. DELETE. Why would I want anyone to call me at 11:11 pm? I mean, even if the email Did have some eerie power to make something good happen to me (which it obviously doesn't), I wouldn't want it to happen at 11:11--I'm asleep then. Why do people forward that kind of thing?? The mind boggles.

Our office had the Ice Cream Social Hootenanny yesterday, and what I didn't realize was that another office was coming over to partake in the festivities. This meant that on top of conspicuously not eating ice cream with my boss in the room [he Did make comments, which I parried effortlessly. I stole a line from one of the AtomicFriends to answer his "But I bought all that ice cream!", the line being, "You know what that sounds like? That sounds like Your problem." Ah those AtomicFriends...they are so helpful. But I digress], I was also expected to mingle. Instead I used the excuse that the conference room was too full (it was, actually) and loitered in the hall outside with a couple other mingleaphobes. So it was fine and I snuck back to my office as soon as I could.

We've been getting a lot of walk-in people this week, since students are moving back to school now, and yesterday people came in to see me just to say thank-you, and they gave me a big box of candy. They said our office has been so much easier to work with than the aid office at their other daughter's school, and I was thinking, "you're kidding!", because the people who answer the phones can be pretty unhelpful sometimes. Well, actually it's only one person that can be unhelpful, but she answers the phone about 40% of the time. I put the candy in the kitchen to be consumed and was glad it wasn't Godiva chocolate, because that would be hard to resist, but wasn't that nice of them? Sometimes I feel extremely ashamed of myself for my bad attitude about people (in general), because they always end up surprising me with nice gestures and kind words.

I called home a little while ago to tell Francisco I feel homesick today (which is ridiculous but true) and he said the library had called to say the book I requested is in. Huzzah! I've been wanting to read this book for a long time; it's called, "Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers". I'm going to pick it up ASAP.

A couple days ago I heard the Cranberries' 'Zombie' while on my way to work and it's stuck in my head, on continuous loop. I am going insane. This morning at 3-something I had to get up and pee, and the first thing I became aware of when trudging to the bathroom was that damn Zombie song, shrieking in my brain. It's like my own personal Muzak and I'm in hell. I think the only way to get rid of it is displace it with a different song, but what if that song turns out to be more annoying at 3:00 in the morning? Almost better to go with the devil you know. You know?

I'm starting to think I might have a peptic ulcer, because sometimes I get a burning in the middle of my chest when I'm hungry (which is often, now), and it even woke me up a couple nights ago. If it doesn't go away in a few days I'ma have to go to the doctor, and you Know that's not my favorite thing. I'm seeing a doctor next week anyway, because my appointment with the endocrinologist is the 29th, and I'm happy about that--I wanted that appointment--but I don't want to have to go to my regular doctor's office. So hopefully the weirdness will go away soon. Clap-clap!

Esther did her "hiding" thing again this morning. Except she was under the table in the bedroom this time, and only her tail and one leg was showing. Francisco and I think of her as a little person, and last night she showed (again) what an icky little person she is. I was scratching behind her left ear and she was really into it, leaning into my hand. In the frenzied scratching, my index finger went into her ear and I just sort of gently rubbed it around in there, with her approval. When she ceased to enjoy that I took my hand away and she sniffed my finger and then licked it. I affectionately told her that she is an extremely gross person--she squinted her eyes at me and purred. I went and washed my hands.

Last night we got mail from the Howard Dean campaign, and I think we might get involved with it, locally. We're beginning to be big fans of him, and not Just because we want Dubya out of the White House. Though I would vote for a chimp in the next election if it was a choice between a chimp and Dubya. True story.

The Funny left me a few days ago and I'm still waiting for that bitch to come back. In the meantime, this is the best I can do.

Love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify