it's the good kind of sloth

2008-11-13

On Veterans Day, in the morning, I went with Twyla to Jazzercise, and I signed up for a membership. Now I know what you're thinking. You're thinking, "But Eva, aren't you way too cool for Jazzercise?" Well I can see why you'd think that, but the answer is no, I really am not. And it turns out Jazzercise is basically just aerobics--there is no jazz involved--and so far I have not seen any sweatbands or leotards. The Tuesday class I went to was at 9:00, but today I went to the 6 a.m. one and OMG it was so much fun. The music was exactly what I like to exercise to--fast dance music--and even though I looked pretty dumb for probably most of the class (it'll take awhile before I can accurately bust all the moves), I don't care. I am going to that class every single weekday from now on, except for next Monday and Tuesday, because I will be in Seattle those days for Francisco's police graduation. The graduation isn't until Tuesday but I'm going back with him on Sunday night and we'll stay at a hotel Sunday and Monday nights. Monday during the day I will be finding and purchasing a dress to wear to his graduation; I want to look good because during the ceremony I will be pinning on his badge. I hope I don't poke him or otherwise humiliate him in front of his classmates. He's the president, you know. Technically this means I'm the first lady, and don't think I'm not going to play that up.

Today I'm getting caught up at work, largely on account of having exercised this morning. I don't know about you, but when I exercise before work it turns me into a powerhouse for the rest of the day. The big question is why I ever balk at morning exercise when I KNOW how great I feel afterwards. It's one of the mysteries of life, I guess.

Catie made a suggestion to me a week or two ago when I said I was bored with my job. She asked if it would make it more fun if I was sticking gold stars on things, so I got some stars (various colors) and some smiley head stickers (also various colors) and have been sticking one on every document I work on. It turns out that this definitely makes my job more fun, and if Catie ever suggests anything to you, you should do it.

Alright, I'm going home now. The walk home tonight will be much more pleasant than last night's: It was absolutely pissing down rain and every step of the way I was thinking about the armed robbery that had occurred early in the day on campus. I was holding onto my pepper spray in my pocket, but fortunately I did not need it.

I want a steak for dinner but I'll probably have a sweet potato. NOT for any kind of diet reason but just because I'm too lazy to go buy a steak and then cook it. One example of sloth working to my advantage.

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify